You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Auschwitz - Putting a Face to the Name

in #travel5 years ago

Dude that poem... you take me down an emotional street and then.. the Twix. I'm not sure i remember a poem has made me just sit there and think in the way that just did. Eating a Twix at Aushwitz. As bizarre as that is, it's one of the most thought-provoking images that has entered my brain in recent times.

Bloody well done with that one sir.

Sort:  

Thanks Mark. Yes, it is a bit of a literary device in the way it creates 'gut punch' impact but it is honestly also just the truth of the physical action I was taking while walking around Birkenau.

But, having said all that I was aware when I was writing the poem toward the end that it needed something to drive home the level of fundimental inhuman, alien atrocity that Aushwitz is, and the memory of my breakfast Twix came flooding back. The normalness of the Twix just helps to elivate the deeply tragic images in the previous lines. This poem is the first piece of writing in a long time that had me welling up while I was writing it and when reading it back again now. I may perform it at a poetry night here in Liverpool.

Thanks for the feedback. It means a lot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61674.06
ETH 3067.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81