Enchanting Enchanted River

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

ER2.jpg
Been here in my place for many years but I never thought there's so many beautiful places I haven't traveled. Enchanted River is one of the most visited places here in Mindanao. By the name itself, indeed it is enchanting. It's crystal clear water makes the sinkhole visible. Making it so attractive by its sapphire and jade color. The water springs from the sinkhole and flows into the Philippine sea. Hmmm, that is why I tasted the water a bit salty. Legend says that there are Engkantos (mythical creatures/environmental spirits) living in this river, that is why it is named Enchanted River. I heard from my sister that there was a diver died after his last exploration. He died of cardiac arrest when he failed to get out from the entrance. I thought this was just a hearsay until I found out on YouTube their exploration. His name is Dr. Alfonso Amores, a surgeon and a veteran diver (may he rest in peace). After the incident, government beware tourist to swim in the main pool where the sinkhole is located, they designate a place where tourist can swim and enjoy the wonder of this natural creation. It is strictly implemented all swimmers to wear life vest as well.
20171228_112602.jpg

I enjoyed and yet I was aching to take off my vest because I badly wanted to go deep and touch the stone. Unfortunately, I'm so obedient. :) and I also have my daughter with me, so I'm glad I did the right thing to stick with the rules. I was so grateful God provided us this wonder to enjoy. And I'm thankful for the environmentalist and the government that they made rules to preserve the river. If not, people will abuse its beauty and the Engkantos might get mad and will take another swimmer as sacrifice. Well, I really have a gut feeling that it was the reason why doctor diver died. Just a thought! Creepy!

ER3.jpg

The awesome part was everyone were required to get out from the water at 12noon because it was fish feeding time. This was what I've been waiting for, to see different colorful fish, and some of them are salt water fish. However, I wasn't able to see them clearly as the crowd flocks by the ridge to record videos and take pictures. I carried my daughter for her to be able to see the fish, but we were too far. My sister was able to record the feeding though. I just enjoy the music while feeding the fish by some locals. When the music was done, the two locals who are assigned to feed stopped giving then food and amazingly the fish went back to their places and nowhere to be seen. Enchanting isn't it?
We hurriedly go back to our spot and savor the moment. This river was very very cold, but hey, my 3yo daughter loves it. She wasn't even scared that I let go of her. She didn't want us to go back, but I was bored and just envy those fish that I wanted to go deep.

ER5.jpg

Enchanted River is located in Hinatuan Surigao Del Sur, 138.6km from Butuan City where the airport is. If you are planning to include this enchanting river in your summer bucket list, I would love to give you some tips and guidelines.
Not the same as before, Enchanted River now has many personnel that will guide you and tell you what to do, where to park and so on. This is just to set your expectations:

  1. YOU CAN'T DIVE in the water, you need to wear life vest.
  2. There is no free nowadays millenials, ready your 40 pesos for the entrance fee and a parking fee for car owners. Don't worry, you'll get a receipt ;)
  3. You can't eat at the swimming area. You can only bring your important things and leave the others like food at the main entrance or in your car. There is a shuttle that takes tourist from main entrance to the river.
  4. Present an ID when getting vests. One ID is enough for as many vest as you can ;) 15pesos each
  5. Don't forget your monopad, underwater cam (although you can't dive) and/or waterproof case for smartphones.
  6. For the ladies, do not wear two/one piece. It's freakin' cold!!
  7. Wear aqua shoes so you won't have to leave slippers anywhere and later on worried that it's gone.(I have my sports sandals on all the time. My daughter's was her Sunday shoes :( But she didn't mind.)
  8. Crabs, lobsters, shrimps are there to eat!!
  9. Be responsible with your things, do not leave them unattended. Still be cautious!

20171228_095049.jpg

Have a great summer vacation ahead guys! Thanks to @lebron2016 and to @surpassinggoogle! Hopefully I can travel back here with you guys and other steemians!! ;)

27046394_2034876590130786_2047187631_o.jpg

#steemitachievers
#steemph

Sort:  

Awesome shot. Planning to within this year. :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has checked the text of this post and it appears original!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy. Please note, it only checks the text component!

Pagkanindut ba ana diha anhaan. Hhuhu

nice sis.. we went there too last year...

i heard it is not anymore allowed to swim in the river unlike before

Great place and post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55213.27
ETH 2919.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.95