Walking in the Lion City; Singapore memories by @mariandavp

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Here I am, at the other side of the world but just 16 hours away from paradise and I wonder; Why don't I go back to Singapore?

It's not even a year since I walked down the streets of the Lion City with a plum sugar cane juice in one hand and my heart in the other. I was falling in love, and I was awed; I never thought I could leave far from Greece but for this...? Yes, maybe.

I am not a big fan of big cities, I don't love skylines and huge modern buildings but Singapore has managed to mix successfully urbanization with street art with technology with the beauty of a tropical island, all in one, and serve it to you like a smooth 52. For adventure freaks like me, there is always the Sentosa Island where many things happen regularly and periodically. From adventure parks to Spartan races and Legion Runs.

It is a cosmopolitan place, mainly Chinese influenced but still quite multicultural, very clean and very safe. I used to avoid such places, I thought they were sterilized, however after a few bad experiences I came to appreciate them... People told me that it is very expensive, but I can't say that it is more expensive than Copenhagen or London or Boston or other places I've been.

It has a magnificent art scene too, with artworks being displayed literally EVERYWHERE.

This is a really long photo album but it is only a small fraction of what the experience. All photos are taken by me apart from the ones I'm in of course (da...).

Enjoy!

Sort:  

I upvote, resteem and follow you.

Wow wonderful shots! What a beautiful city. I hope to visit there one day.

Thank you... I hope you do, it's beautiful indeed.

Seeing your post makes me want to. It's in the plans to travel in the future but have to get some work done first.

Steem on :)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.28 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 21 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.036
BTC 65930.92
ETH 3387.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75