This is Thailand. Chapter 13: Exit of the Dragon. Part 4.

in #travel6 years ago

I decided to celebrate my return to Bangkok after the first successful expedition with the clients, in the sky bar at the top of the Lebua State Tower Hotel – where I had begun my Bangkok adventure. Piam was dressed up in a short, silver dress and high heels, which caught the attention of a group of farangs drinking nearby. We ordered Bangkok Slings and admired in silence the night panorama of the Thai capital.

Link to the previous part: This is Thailand. Chapter 13: Exit of the Dragon. Part 3.

Somewhere down there, 15 million people were fulfilling their daily routines. Some stay in never-ending traffic in their new, air-conditioned cars, while others lie on the street, trying to survive another night living homeless. Farangs sit in expensive restaurants for foreigners, while Thais queue up at street-stalls for their tom yam soups. Thousands of girls in hundreds of clubs, bars and massage parlours will make thousands of foreigners cum tonight in exchange for a good salary and a generous tip. A country of contrasts and morality, impossible to understand for a western citizen.
supaksorn-chaimongkol-mars-581803957.jpg

A sound of an incoming message dragged me back to Earth. I checked my pockets to realize that my phone was in Piam’s bag. She looked at me with an angry face and slowly took the phone from her bag. In line with my expectation, she read the message. Her expression changed from undefined to pissed off. She used all her force to hit the phone on the bar – Motherfucker! - she shouted and left. The conversations stopped and everybody looked at me. I looked at the screen - Why don’t you answer me? Have you forgotten me? - said the message from an unknown number. The same number as the last time, from the bargirl in Krabi.

-Follow her... - whispered an old French woman standing next to me. The bartender smiled, nodded and handed me another drink. I tried to get drunk thinking about the sense of it all. My head was a mess. Some time ago there was a big love facing challenges. From Apple, who was always unbearable to Piam’s humours. Constant accusing me of cheating eventually leading me to cheat. One time, two times, three... I still loved her, but I couldn’t stand the pressure. Or maybe I was just looking for excuses? Maybe I was a motherfucker after all.

I came back home like a beaten dog. I was ready to accept everything that was going to happen. If it was the end of the relationship, then so be it. I deserved it. I’ll live with that and start again. After all, every ending is a new beginning.
-What’s up? - asked Peter on chat.
-As always, drama in my family life.
-Jesus, what now?
-Nothing, she found out about my adventures in Krabi.
-I had a feeling that she knew before.
-She did, but she lacked the proof. This time I won’t make it though.
-What will happen?
-I don’t know, we’ll see. How about you?
-I came back to Europe. I have to tell you honestly, I had enough.
-Enough of what? Traveling?
-No... the Thais!
-What happened?
-I was thinking about the whole expedition. Burma and Cambodia are poor countries, but look how well they looked after us when we were there. In Thailand, something was always wrong. The guide doesn’t know what the size of the group is, or that Thailand has a prime minister. The bus doesn’t have a fridge which we’ve paid for, and the whole attitude...
-What exactly do you mean?
-Listen, if I pay for something, I expect to have those services delivered. If they do something wrong, I will talk to them about it. And then they get offended.
-Now you seem to get it.
-Man, they’re fucked up. If Piam really breaks up with you, then get out of there.
-You know, I was thinking about it. I don’t know where though. I don’t want to go back to Europe.
-Have you thought about South America?
-No, I was never too excited about that region.
-Man, it’s a different world. Their culture has more in common with ours and everyone speaks a language you can learn.
-Don’t tempt me, because you know me. I don’t need much to make a quick decision.
-That’s what I’m counting on.
-I’ll think about it. What country?
-Argentina?
-Too cold and European for me.
-Brazil?
-Sounds better, I’ll think about it. I better get some sleep.
-Ok, take care.

I closed the laptop and went towards fridge to get a drink. “Whooop!” something struck the door in Apple’s room, who was staying with her grandparents tonight. It was obviously Piam trying to get my attention. I ignored her and mixed vodka with Coca-Cola. “Boom! Whoop! Boom!” the sound came again. I opened the door. Piam was sat crying on the bed. She looked at me with evil eyes and breathed hard. The cabinet had crashed on the floor and the mirror was broken.

-What the fuck are you doing?!? - I shouted at her.
-I hate you, you motherfucker! - she screamed and threw something at the window. The glass shattered into thousands of pieces.
Piam rushed towards me with no friendly intentions. I accepted a few punches in the chest and grabbed her hands when she hit my face, cutting my lip with a ring I had once bought for her. I never suspected she could be so strong.
-How could you, you motherfucker?!? - she shouted as she continued trying to attack. She couldn’t reach me with her hands, so she tried to kick me. I pushed her away forcefully and she fell to the floor. She got up, grabbed my drink from the table and threw it at me. I jumped at the last minute and it smashed against the wall.
-Calm down for fuck’s sake! - I shouted and grabbed. The girl tried to get away the whole time, flailing her arms and legs wildly without any coordination. I threw her on the couch, went to our room and closed the door from the inside. The noise from the living room showed that the fridge and the cabinet with the TV had just fallen on the floor. More glasses hit the wall. Eventually Piam attacked the door and started punching it with all her strength.
-Open, open! Open, open! Please! I beg you!!! -
-I’ll open it when you calm down. -
-I am calm now. Open, please... open! - I heard the girl kneel down and begin to sob. I opened the door slowly. Piam stood up silently, still crying. She walked towards me and I noticed a big kitchen knife in her hand.
-Kill me! Kill me! She shouted, waving the knife in the air. I grabbed her hand and the knife fell on the floor. I grabbed and hugged her, trying to change the strategy.
-Shh.,, sh... sh... it’s alright, calm down.
The girl stopped shaking. I put her on the bed, hugged her and kissed her. We made love like crazy and, inhumanely tired, we fell asleep. Piam woke me up before sunrise and began to shake and cry again. I repeated the procedure that had worked a few hours before – hugging, kissing and sex.

I woke up a few hours later with a terrible headache. I crawled out of bed and marched to the living room covered with the sun. Half of the apartment looked like a battlefield. On the floor was lots of broken glass and the TV was broken. From the fallen and disconnected fridge, a lot of water was leaking out. A broken sugar box was on the floor as well. A colony of ants had a real feast there. I had no idea where to start Saturday’s cleaning. I sat down in front of the computer and answered some e-mails. A loud noise reached me from the bedroom. Fuck, not again! Piam was shaking and crying again.

-Why have you left me?! Why?!? I know you are talking to that bitch!
-Calm down honey. I’m not talking to anyone, I’m answering business e-mails.
-I don’t believe you!
-Calm down, please.
-Don’t talk to me!- Piam pushed me away from the bedroom, closed the door from the inside, fell on the bed and started to cry.

I didn’t know what to do. I was completely disorientated. I called her mother who was visiting Bangkok. In a mixture of Thai and English, I explained that she had to come, because Piam had a big problem. She was at the apartment in less than half an hour.

-Did you call my mother?- Piam shouted in disbelief.
-You’ve left me no choice.
-I hate you!
-Leave us alone. - Piam’s mother asked.

I walked out of the apartment and completely lost it. Tears of helplessness appeared on my cheeks for the first time in many years. I returned and Piam’s mother came out of the room to explain that everything would be fine. She said that she had given Piam an injection and that now Piam will sleep and later she will be calm. I thank her for her help and walk into the room to find Piam fast asleep. I hugged her and tried to sleep as well, thinking about the whole situation, in particular the injection. How come Piam’s mother had this injection ready in less than half an hour? Was there something I didn’t know about my girlfriend? I couldn’t sleep, so I told Peter about the whole situation. He had one piece of advice: “Get the fuck out of there!”

TO BE CONTINUED...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55981.35
ETH 2368.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35