Dazzling Amsterdam : Vondelpark

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Good day fellow Steemians! And welcome to part seven of my series on Dazzling Amsterdam. I would like to show you all the biggest park in the city: The Vondelpark.
In 1864 a group of people bought a stretch of land and started developing it into a park. In 1865 the first part was opened to the public. It was named Nieuwe Park at first.
20170717_172501.jpg

The park was arranged in the English style, with a very natural look and lots of water in it. It was renamed to Vondelpark in 1867, after the unveiling of the statue of Joost van den Vondel. He was a dutch poet and play-writer that lived in the 17th century.
20170717_173033.jpg

The park is very popular amongst locals and tourists alike. On a sunny day it is sometimes very hard to find a spot to relax. Here are a couple of photo's showing you the lush environment:
20170717_171923.jpg

20170717_172317.jpg

20170717_173944.jpg


If you want to grab a bite or a drink, the park offers a few very nice places to do so:
20170717_172817.jpg
This is Bar/restaurant Vondelpark3. It used to be the filmmuseum from 1972 until 2012, when filmmuseum EYE was opened on the IJ (read my previous post https://steemit.com/travel/@marcovanhassel/dazzling-amsterdam-the-ij to learn more)

20170717_173637.jpg
This is the Blauwe Theehuis. A very laid back place to have a drink.

20170717_173913.jpg
And this is Groot Melkhuis. It has a playground for kids in the back and offers the possibility to hire a room to have a private party, like weddings etc.


The park also holds an open air theater, which has an agenda from May to September. If you wanna know what's up, check out http://www.openluchttheater.nl/
20170717_173741.jpg


Here are a couple more shots of the park:

20170717_174119.jpg

20170717_173618.jpg

20170717_174305.jpg


I hope you all liked my story about the park. Have any of my followers been there? If so, what was your experience?
Let me know in the comments ;)

Want to read more about Dazzling Amsterdam? You can find all posts I've done right here

Peace and love!

Sort:  

Isn't it just? Especially on a sunny day😁

Yes I like this park a lot although in summer it gets extremely busy. Other people like Westerpark and Oosterpark more but the Vondelpark is my favorite. Yes its kinda manicured and looked after well but I like that! :)

You're absolutely right. I might do a post on on of the other parks in the near future. Stay tuned @paprikachips 👍

It is amazing that you could achieve this with the collaboration of viewers and Steemit. In the end we upvote what we like, and who is not going to like community service? It was a great idea. Kudos to you and your whole team! @marcovanhassel

I don't have a team ;)
It's just me, myself and I.
Thank you for the kind words @tuehanh

Great post!Long time since I've been there, I think 30 years. Great place to listen to some street artists. After visiting a coffee shop, it's a must to go sit in the park and relax!

It's fantastic to have a smoking-session in the park with a couple of friends ;)

And with that you don't mean E-cigarette I guess? ... haha

Nope, talkin' bout sweet Mary-jane😉.
I quit both cannabis and tobacco, but I used to smoke daily for about 20 years.

i know; have read your intropost. have a nice day ...

I vape most of the time, love my DaVinci Ascent vaporizer!

Dazzling indeed! I have actually been to Amsterdam but never made it to the park! I'm sure I will when I'm next back. I do like a good park... my 'go to' in Madrid is Retiro, you ever been? Anyway, enjoy! :)

I'm sorry to say I've never been to Madrid. But now I know where to go if I'm ever in town. Thank you @adambarratt 👍

Casa de Campo is another good one in Madrid. It's HUGE. There are others of course but those 2 would be a good place to start if you come this way. With the heat here and all this talk of parks, I think I know where I'm going today! ;)

Enjoy yourself and have a beer on me😉

Me encanta El Retiro! It surpasses het Vondelpark!
I lived in Madrid for 3 months in 2009 and in Amsterdam for a year 2009/2010 but I definitely prefer El Retiro.

Awesome love to go there sometime.

Let me know when you do😉

Vooral in de drukke zomermaanden probeer ik het te vermijden, veel te vol met luidruchtige toeristen en dagjesvolk. Buiten die drukke periodes om is het een lekker park om te wandelen

Op sommige dagen is t inderdaad erg druk. Vooral bij het beeld van Vondel in de buurt. Maar hoe verder je naar de westkant gaat, hoe minder druk het (meestal) is. Zeker met het nieuwe algehele bbq verbod😑

Misschien maar beter ook dat bbq verbod...ik ga wel lekker in mn tuin zitten ;)

This post has received a 3.98 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @marcovanhassel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44