You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 11, Part 2 – Team Beck tilts at windmills in Zaanse Schans

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Thank you for a wonderful series on your trip.

I had the opportunity to visit the Kinder Dijk when we were in the Netherlands. It was an amazing experience as we had an opportunity to view it from the inside. It consist of an array of wooden gears that dive the mill and in beteen this all there is livingplace for the farmer and his family!

Sort:  

Wow, @marcel1965, that sounds like it's worth going back to see. I must say there's merit in this skimming approach because we got to see a lot, but what it achieves is making us want to go back and dive deeper into some of the places we saw. That Kinder Dijk experience must have been eye-opening - were the farmer and his family living and working there, or was it a demonstration farm? I didn't quite get if Zaanse Schans was one or the other, or a bit of both.

@kiligirl, it was a working farm but for demostration purposes however the farmer really stayed in the mill. I still thought that I will not be able to live like that with tourist whatching your every move!

Gee, you would really have to want to work that way. I'm with you - no tourists looking over my shoulder, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71084.64
ETH 3864.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52