You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: First day in Iceland- Horseback riding the famous Icelandic HORSES (not ponies.. seriously don't call them that)

in #travel7 years ago

Hi @spurnedwanderer Thanks for the post mate. Are these Icelandic pon... I mean "horses" the same animals as Fjordland ponies? I believe I have seen horses that look very similar in European Rewilding projects?

Sort:  

Hello Marcel! To be honest I'm not 100% positive. You're referring to Norway's Fjord horses right? What I have learned is that Icelandic horses are in a sense, descended from the Fjord horses since they were brought to Iceland originally by Norwegian settlers but there hasn't been any cross breeding between the two breeds since the Icelandic horse was brought over. I'm not familiar with the European Rewilding project (though I may need to be now since it sounds AHmazing!) but the Fjordland ponies are actually a little larger than the Icelandic horses, otherwise they are both pretty stocky and cute :) Sorry this is a little vague, but it's all I have at the moment. ~Amanda

Hi Amanda @spurnedwanderer Thank you for the reply! I did some "google research" on the horses as well. They were used in some Rewilding initiatives in mainland Europe. You can find out more on European Rewilding on Rewilding Europe. Rewilding is an exciting global movement that aims to restore lost and forgotten wilderness and wildlife.

Kind regards,
Marcel van der Merwe II

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56800.55
ETH 2331.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34