Fight the Fear: Travel Solo

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

As someone who’s done some solo travelling, I’ve been wanting to write about the murder of backpacker Grace Millane in New Zealand. I’ve been busy with exams, but I was figuring the words out in the back of my mind.

grace_thetimes.jpg

But then a few days ago I read about Sarah Papenheim, an American studying in the Netherlands who was stabbed to death by her male flatmate, and something in me just snapped.

sarah_bbc.jpg

I didn’t know what to say any more. I’ve just been so incredibly angry. It's taken time to gather my thoughts.

Two young women, 22 and 21, killed by two young men. Both thousands of miles from home, from their families. Both having the time of their lives, experiencing another country. Both in countries I personally would think of as being super safe.

Are people reading these stories and wondering what a young woman was doing travelling all alone? Meeting up with a stranger? Will they wonder how safe it is to travel themselves? Or to study abroad? Will it scare parents off letting their children go off on their own adventures?

Please, don’t let it. Women do not need any more reasons to watch the way we live. The violence is not our fault; that is entirely on the perpetrators. We are not the ones who need to change.

There are too many reasons to travel for us to just stop out of fear. Being alone in a foreign country is exciting and lonely and wonderful and empowering and boring and beautiful.

1111photo1.jpg

Travelling and living abroad has taught me a lot about the world, and people, and myself. And I’ve experienced so much kindness from strangers along the way. I think it’s important to remember that.

Right now I want to focus on the goodness. I can be absolutely livid and devastated that those men chose to take the lives of two innocent women, but I can also be positive about travelling in general. Grace Millane’s family have said they don’t want a single person to be put off travelling because of her death. So here are some of the people I’ve met on my travels.

The girl in Frankfurt who saw me crying after I missed my bus to the airport, and helped me find another. She promised me a place to stay if I didn’t make my flight.

The girl on that second bus, who accompanied me into the airport to do all the talking in German and make sure I’d be allowed to fly (and who also offered me a bed for the night if it didn’t work).

The man in Melbourne who noticed I was lost because I’d walked past him in a panic 3 times, and walked with me to my destination to be sure I didn’t lose my way again.

The man in Singapore who saw me, flustered and upset, trying to drag a suitcase with a broken wheel down the street in the dark on my first night, and carried it to my hostel for me.

My Couchsurfing hosts in London who put me up and cooked wonderful food for me, and gave me advice for getting the most out of the city.

My Couchsurfing host in Thailand, a gentle psychology student who brought me into her home, took care of me like a sister for three days and introduced me to her beautiful country.

The elderly Thai man on Koh Tao island, who spotted me walking from the beach as it was getting dark and gave me a lift right back to the main road on his motorbike.

The fellow tourists and hostel staff on Koh Tao who picked me up off the road after I fell off a bicycle. And then the wonderful nurses at the clinic who held my hands while I got stitched up, and helped me every step of the way with my recovery and the insurance process.

The sweet woman in Kuala Lumpur who approached me just to check if I needed help, because I’d wandered a long way from the tourist areas and probably looked more lost than I was.

There were times in all this that I could really have met disaster. That man who knew where my hostel was could have had bad intentions. My hosts might have let me down at the last minute and left me with nowhere to go. The girls in Frankfurt didn’t have to stop for a crying stranger – they had their own plans to be getting on with. All that’s really gone badly wrong for me is falling off the bike, and that accident could have happened anywhere (if you’re bad enough at cycling, you could easily recreate it outside your own front door).

Have I been naive? Too trusting? Too vulnerable? Maybe. Am I going to stop? No. Why would I?

window(1).jpg

I have faith in my instincts, and I have faith in humanity. I believe most people are good and want to help. In my time abroad I’ve almost exclusively met people who treated me kindly. Does that make me fortunate? I don’t think so. “Kind” should be our default setting.

We do need to have conversations about the sickening violence happening against women, and we need to be angry. But in memory of the adventurous young women whose lives were taken recently, I think it’s important to retain our sense of adventure and trust and curiosity about the world. We can’t let that be taken from us too.

(First two images from bbc.com and thetimes.co.uk)

Sort:  

Indeed there's no reason to scare people into not doing what they want to do. Bad things happen all the time and they can happen to anyone. Just because they happened to be foreign travellers doesn't mean that everyone should stop travelling.

I have seen random people stop and help complete strangers and it is heartwarming.

However, I'm a pessimist and hence never disappointed.

Thank you for the post! ☺️

Haha, I guess that's one way to avoid disappointment... Thank you for reading!

You could've been killed even if you're just staying at home this recent days @maracuja, life is too short to be afraud of exploring. I'm so sorry to read about those two young traveling girls and I'm so happy to read your little storues about how wonderful and kinf people still around too.

I read many stories about the women who travelling around the world, alone or with a company, some are bad and many are great. Couldn't agree mire with you, it is not our fault when something bad happens, but we have the right to enjoy a safe and comfort journey.

There are many more sad stories like that, unfortunately... but at the same time, there are countless little stories like yours. Sometimes there's nothing we can do. I usually travel alone and so far, I have been lucky enough not to encounter any criminals.

I've enjoyed reading this article. Be safe on your travels, @maracuja!

PS: I have found your post because @chekohler featured you in his entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

I know there are a lot of stories like this, and it usually takes a lot to shock me, especially these days...but I really saw myself in those girls. I studied abroad in China last year and I was 21 when I went to Australia alone. I just wish they had met better people along the way, like I did. They should have been safe.

Thank you very much for reading and have a nice day :)

Those stories are terrible but I agree it should not stop you. The world likes to focus heavily on the negatives because of well that's what sells, that's the news. Maybe I'm also naive but I still feel the majority of the world is filled with good people who genuinely care and want to help their fellow man

Wishing you the best of luck and safety on your travels


I liked your post so much that I selected it as my pay it forward post of the week. You can find it my submission here and more about the @pifc curation initiative here

Thank you so much for your kind support, it means a lot!
I know negative stories sell, but it seems like fear sells too. I've already seen articles saying "This girl's death shows the danger of studying abroad" but...no, it doesn't. It just shows someone murdered her. That can happen anywhere, sadly. But the scaremongering gets views!

I 100% agree I think they also like to put labels on it to make it sound more official. Its like if someone says something thats offensive based on whatevre say skin colour and the media is like oh his a racist. No his just insensitive and an arsehole. But thats not going to get views!

But its good to put out content and messages like these for people to find that is counter to the narrative the mainstream are trying to push. Keep it up :)

I am sorry about the women that got killed so far from home. But I also agree with you, that fear should not prevent us to gain experiences and to enjoy life.

I have a huge fear of flying - or rather, of a plane crashing when I'm in. Because, really, once you are in that situation, there's nothing you can really do. But in order to visit my family or to experience new places, I need travel this way. And when I am panicking about the minuscule possibility of my plane crashing, I tell myself, that staying at home would not ensure my survival. We don't know how much time we have here. Some people survive the craziest dangers while others die in relatively safe situations/places.

I can relate a little. When I fly I'm always absolutely fine up until we take off and then I have a moment of "Oh my God, what have I done, I can't get down by myself now!". It's the vulnerability of being totally dependent on the pilots that scares me, I think. But every time we get in a car we're depending on other people to drive safely and not kill us too. There are risks everywhere but if we wanted to be 100% safe, we wouldn't have much of a life...

Thank you for reading :)


giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 37. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

I've ended up in plenty of situations over the years that could have ended very differently. Especially in foreign countries when wandering by myself and not knowing the areas. There are always bad people in the world and there will always be violence so the only thing we can really do is try to be smart in our actions and be aware of our surroundings.
Travelling is such a brilliant experience that it would be a shame for people not to take on the adventure because at the end of the day you could die in a car crash so life is far too short to not do what you want to.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by maracuja from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hello @maracuja, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

The kindness of strangers is a truly wonderful thing. Thanks for sharing the good stories. As a fellow female traveler, I know many people fear for our safety. I wish they knew of all the kindness that is ubiquitous in our world. :-D

I've never really been very scared to go abroad alone, but other people do love to make it all seem scary! Thank you for reading :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62102.31
ETH 2432.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67