@maninayton And The Lights Of The City Of York

in #travel7 years ago
I know it is a little late to post this with Christmas now behind us, but I thought I would share the following photographs taken while on a trip to the City of York at the beginning of December. Besides, I always think that January is a dull month after all the glitz of Christmas so it is nice to look back.

My wife and I, along with a couple of friends, took a trip to York to have a look at the festive lights which had been set up in the Museum Gardens park.

We weren't aware that the York Christmas street market was in full swing.

After wondering around the market gazing at all the brightly lit stalls, we made our way to the Museum Gardens. York Council had really made an effort this year and had even put lights on one of the gates in the old city walls.

As the name suggests, Museum Gardens is where the Yorkshire Museum is. It had been laser lit to great effect.



The trees in the gardens had also been atmosphericly lit.

There are also the ruins of an old abbey in the gardens which had also been lit up along with a part of the old city walls.

There was also a 'Field of Fire' which as a mass of burning torches. This photo doesn't really do it justice but you can get an idea as to what it was like.


At the end of the display was a large fire pit where you could toast marshmallows

I was very impressed with how York had been decked out for the Christmas season. I hope they make the same effort for next Christmas!

Images

All images are by the author


I hope you have enjoyed this post and would consider following me.

Here are a selection of my recent posts:-

How to view the International Space Station from your garden

I am watched by a pair of Vultures!

Tiggy is not amused!




Mindfulness E-Book - 0.100 SBD

I have collated a series of posts I did on Mindfulness into an ebook which can be downloaded here for the low, low price of 0.100 SBD

Until next time - take care of yourselves.

GardenBadge

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60868.40
ETH 2377.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64