Trust is Pure !!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180202_100805_329.jpg

Trusting your gut feeling

This is a 40 year old retired working bull elephant living on a rehabilitation centre for elephants on the of the neyyar river in the jungles near my fair trade.

How I came to be in this position ?

Well I was visiting an elephant rehabilitation near the fair trade charity I have been working with for the last 7 years, I had an opportunity to get up close and personal to these magnificent creatures, including bathing a baby elephant.

This elephant and his keeper bought great wisdom and teachings to me in just the simplicity of their relationship, one of trust and respect.

And potently expressed in this one moment ..

My driver said to me, " madam go have your photo with this elephant " , so I walked up very slowly and constantly in eye contact with both keeper and elephant. .

Than my driver said, "touch his tusk madam ", I thinking Mmm Im not sure, but the keeper nodded gingerly, I could tell this was a look of approach with caution, so I did, & true to a muma style, I sang a shiva mantra I thought he may know or feel safe with. ..too my surprise he raised his ears and trunk and let out a sound, he liked, but for a moment both keeper and I stood strong firm & no fear. . Trust ! !!

And with one small stick the keeper tapped the elephants legs as if to say easy, calm , steady & this beast of jungle who could of crushed both us in an instant stood calm and still .. trust ! !

IMG_20171108_205149_534.jpg

Sort:  

@seablue showed me this in @shadowspub's PYPT, that has got to be daunting near such a huge creature.

Daunting yes, & in hindsight I was amazed I did trust , because if I were an elephant I would not be to jeen on having my tusk touched, hence I say trust. . The elephant trusted his keeper enough to trust me with such an intimate action 🙏 humbled !!

beautiful post:) Keep up this amazing work! I hope to see more of your posts!

I love animals, but never met an elephant. I am sure they are very nice. Seablue told me to stop by and say hi and comment on your elephant. There you, so Hi!

Thank you for stopping by ☺& hi to you also 👍

This image brings back very fond memories from 2010. Of my now-wife at an elephant sanctuary in Kuala Gandah, Malaysia. She had also come close and touched an elephant. I was very impressed by that.

This animal is looking lovable! Trusting animal causes no harm! Good job!

I can post more on this elephant rehabilitation in south India if interested 🌳👍👣👣🌎

I'd like to read more stories from your time in India.

Ok , can do , I dud pilgrimage during pongali ( spiritual time for Hindu to do pilgrimage ) that in itself was a journey in a journey as a woman living in & traveling India solo there is more to this elephant journey that was special to me

they are big animals but they are very kind, if we love them they will love us too..
It is a really interesting story..

Cheers..

You got it , my next post was on exactly that " elephant Love 💚"

I'm waiting for it...

I wish people could realize the problem of elephants abuse and stop bying those elephant rides in exotic countries. Thank you for an interesting post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64