You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Life in the Age of Waste

in #travel7 years ago

Everyday a lot of people are being weighed down with their daily needs including their attachments they attach themselves too.
I feel a person should put in their mindset that they are carrying a big rucksack on their back with a 100 sticks inside of it. They are not going to be walking that far with a 100 sticks loaded against their back. Every step they take they must imagine they are taking one of those sticks out from the rucksack and throwing it away in the opposite direction from over their shoulder. By doing this with every step the rucksack load will become very light very quick. I also believe this can be one way of lightening your mindset and giving you much more clearer vision with your daily life too.

Sort:  

Well-said. In reality, what we really need is not that much. The society just demands us to have more to keep up with the modern times and with the rest of the world. People have this FOMO.

Decluttering will surely lighten the mindset, and I am experiencing it myself. This allows us to focus more on more important things in our lives.

I admire with what your doing as your not going what the crowd is doing. Who cares if you stick out like a sore thumb or what other people think of you? They don`t really see or know who you are other than the thought they have built up of you inside of their shallow imagination.
I was happy to read that your not interest keeping up to date with the latest technology gadgets too.
When I see people who like to label themselves as a traveller. When more likely they are more like a tourist disguised as a traveller. Especially as they are lugging around with them so much attachments too. This to me is not travelling this is like been a tourist on the go.
As I believe you live and travel light as well. I do think you will discover the true meaning of been a traveller and also finding that true meaning reflecting back to you in your life too. It might take you another year to discover the tip of this iceberg or it could take you another 10 years to come upon it.

I think part of being self-actualized is pursuing what you really want, and not what everyone else wants for you. Unless you know them personally, opinions don't matter these days. Especially if it would not contribute to the achievement of your life goals.

I was happy to read that your not interest keeping up to date with the latest technology gadgets too.

Yeah, I don't need upgrades unless it will give me more benefit. If you happen to be surrounded by nature or living in nature, it will just make you feel guilty contributing more waste.

I guess the younger travelers these days still have a lot to learn but maybe at this point, I just know what I want to get from my travels - purpose, learning experience, fresh perspective.

I think with whatever generation you are in with the younger generation they`ll always think they know better and have no discipline or patience as they want to have it all in the now, now. Instead of experiencing the process and the progress of the journey first.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61255.54
ETH 2640.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46