Exploring Myeongdong | Getting Yourself Lost in Street Food, the Streets, and Clothings on Sale!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

"One day, I'll step in Seoul and go to Myeongdong!"
-- I've been telling myself the same line over and over for 9 years.

I was 15 when I became crazily dwelled upon Korean entertainment. I would watch Korean dramas until midnight and doze off in class the next morning. It was fine since I managed to pass anyway but it wasn't easy, I tell ya. I have grown more fond with reality shows best known as Variety Shows. I would repeat the episodes because Korean humor is epic. Totally!

I was 18 when I started teaching basic English to Koreans. I would travel an hour and a half to Mactan (because I live in the city) to earn an extra but part of that was because I wanted to learn more about how they are. I'm pretty curious about their culture, too. My first Korean student always offers me dinner before we begin our 2-hour class. I grew more interested with everything especially Korean food!! Mostly, my students ask me to have dinner with them probably because they have no one to eat with. I gotta say that Korean restaurants in Mactan has the best authentic taste there is!

Late January, winter season, when I step foot in Seoul. I was in awe the moment I got out from the airport and realized I was actually there! The view I have always dreamed to visit was finally before my eyes. Imagine how a fangirl would react. Daebak!

Now, I'm going to share one of the most significant places I was dying to get to. I'm gonna take you to Myeongdong in hana..tu..se! (1..2..3!) Seems fun, huh? :D


The Streets


Myeongdong is one of the busiest streets in Seoul. It operates as late as 12 midnight to 1 am as what I have observed. Tourists shop until late night because there are a lot of promos going on. The shop owners and staff never run out of freebies to hand to passers-by. The most common ones are facial masks. They're going to ask you to come in their cosmetic shop and you could get a freebie for showing interest. I did stall them for almost 10 pieces. Gotta act like a very interested customer though HAHAH



The guy in brown is a close friend. We call him Oppa. Sounds familiar? Thought so.

He fetched us all the way from Incheon airport and took us to a 1-hour ride to Myeongdong to get dinner. We've known each other for almost 4 years now. He visits the Philippines 4-5 times a year, usually Cebu, and we hangout whenever we're available.

We roamed around Myeongdong before we decided a place to eat. As you can see, most of the shops are cosmetic vendors. Well, Koreans are well-known for being beauty inclined. In terms of doing a shopping spree, a little tip for everybody: Keep on looking around until you get tired because there are a huge number of cosmetic shops that you can have discounts if you buy much. Getting it by bundles is a plus. And if you're a foreigner, they give you a lot of freebies. Most of the staff are very friendly. I even made friend with one of them who I agreed to have a drink with after her shift was over. Omo!

My excitement are still in just by taking these pictures. I'm getting totally exhilarated right now just by looking at the photos I took. Now, I wish to be back.

An Eye Catcher:
Wanjeon moiseseoyo! (Totally cool!)

I'd definitely go broke because I desired to buy them all and planned to stick their faces on my bedroom ceiling. My sisters are gonna get me for this!


The StreetFood


The perks in travelling. Not only that you get to experience their culture but you get to taste the food with all authenticity! I had a week of jaw-dropping tastebuds kickin' just thinking what I should eat first when I reach Korea.


Inside the big boiling pan is the very famous Tteobokki (sticky rice cake) that Koreans are always mouthing for.

I am not exaggerating. They are into it as much as Filipinos are into Kwek-kwek. Now you get the dilemma. Everywhere we go, the food smells so lavish I wanna eat all of it even though I was very full. I still couldn't get over the fact that I felt disappointed because I couldn't take in everything in a single night.


This chicken and tteobokki only costs ₩3,000 ($3). No need to explain. Worth it!



Closest to my left side is Odeng meaning Fish Cake which is one for the road; and closest to the right is Deep Fried Seaweed Rolls. Each one costs ₩1,500 ($1.50). The soup in the cup is actually from the fish cake. It's for free as long as you bought something from the stall. It was too hot that I burned my tongue but failed to notice because of the coldness.


These potato frieds are so cute! Finger food usually cost below ₩3000.


I've seen countless food trucks during the time we were looking for stalls to eat. I find it very convenient since vendors stay until the middle of the night, might as well make a dual purpose which can be a store that transports goodies from a place to another.

An Eye Catcher:


Oppa, eolmanaeyo? Translated in English means "Older brother, how much is that?" Can also be.. Oppa, how much are you? LOL


HE'S ON FIRE! I mean, the lobsters are on fire. Heh.

We tried the lobsters because it smelled buttery and oh so yummy! Indeed, expectations matched well. We enjoyed it but we wanted more. We bought the medium-sized and it was still not enough.


The Sale


This has got to be a super huge thing for me! I can call myself lucky because I got the chance to avail sweat shirts for more or less ₩5,000 ($5). Even in the Philippines, I didn't mind lining up for items on sale. We took the road across and reached to Namdaemun. This is one of the most famous markets that many would say is a cheap market. I have seen types of local items and I would say it was all unique.



Items made in China are hard to distinguish as to they all look almost alike.

These winter coats were on sale because winter season was almost over. That's why we had our luck. If you go ahead the straight alley at the next block, you would see much more clothes cheaper than this. I took a picture of these because they were photogenic and price tags were displayed.


Disclaimer:
Take a look at the weather. It was -4°C and I had to snuck off my lip balm in and out of my bag so I couldn't get too much photos because my hands can barely move and click the camera button hahahah!


Taken at the bus stop.


P.S. ALL PHOTOS ARE MINE.


This is all I am able to impart. I hope you enjoyed touring Myeongdong with me. On my next post, I'll give tips on how to get to public transportation such as the train and the bus. Til my next blog. Stay tuned!


Lovelots,
Mai💕

Sort:  

Wow!! Very cool and informative.. and streetfood is so yummy!! I'd like to try that lobsters!! )) Thank you!

Lobsters are something to die for 😆 Oh thanks for reading. Take care!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.23
ETH 2545.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67