Missing Ireland and traveling cheap, my opinion of workaway!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Back in February I took an amazing 5 week trip to Ireland. As I am 19 years old, traveling can be hard due to expenses, especially when flights are crazy expensive. Since I have no real career yet and I have to pay for... ya know life and stuff, traveling seemed to be on the back burner.

HOWEVER, I had been looking more and more into a site called https://www.workaway.info/. Workaway is a site that has tons of hosts all over the world who are looking for help with childcare, yard work, home remodeling assistance, pretty much anything you can think of. So in exchange for your help during the week (about 5 hours a day) you get, a place to stay, all meals provided, and an amazing opportunity to meet others, see new places cheaply and make ever lasting friends. You do pay a yearly fee of 30 bucks to register, but there is no hidden costs and you do not have to resign up every year. First you register, make a detailed profile, the more detailed the better, and start looking for hosts that suit you. The only thing you really have to pay for is the transportation there and leisure things you'd like to do on your off time.

Oh how I miss my days In the seaside village of Kinsale, Ireland

Somewhere in the ring of Kerry, Ireland

I did workaway in Ireland for 5 weeks and in that time I was with 2 different host families. One in Kinsale Ireland and another in Bandon Ireland. Both lovely families who took me on trips with them to Dublin, Cork, Killarney, Limerick and Kerry. They treated me as if I was part of their family and now I have a lasting connection and new friends in another country. For the host in Kinsale I mainly did garden work, and some child care for the 2 weeks I stayed, and although it was cold outside, the garden was so magical and gorgeous. The second host was a family of 5 and I watched their 3 children as well as some light housework. I became very connected to this family and when I would take weekend trips alone to Dublin city they would offer me lifts to the train station, and always genuinely care about my safety and well being.

Little Eliza enjoying a ride through the country side. Killarney, Ireland

I actually enjoyed my time in Ireland so much I intend to go back at the end of September and live there for 6+ months. I just turned in my visa paperwork last week so fingers crossed!! Workaway is such an amazing way to get connected to locals in another country, make amazing friends and really experience a new place, in an affordable way.

                                  REMEBER 
  • workaway is based on mutual trust. Make sure to thoroughly check out your host, call or skype them and make sure they are normal and safe people you feel comfortable with.

  • Most Hosts have reviews left by other people who have stayed with them so be sure to read those!

  • You can leave a workaway situation any time you feel uncomfortable or unsafe.

  • Have fun but be respectful of others lifestyles while you live in their home.

Any special places in Ireland I should try to check out when I go back let me know! :)

If you can't tell, I had a few pints by this time. Limerick, Ireland
ireland pub.jpg

Little cupcake in Cork, Ireland

I got to see sights I'd only dreamt of seeing including the Cliffs of Moher. Co. Clare, Ireland

Sort:  

What an amazing experience and memories for a lifetime. Thank you for sharing. I wish you luck with your Visa. Enjoy and keep sharing those amazing views. I hope to make it to Ireland sometime in the near future. All the best.

You for sure should, It is a gorgeous place! Just makes me happy thinking about it eeek!!! :) Thank you for the best wishes! I hope you make it there soon!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67753.90
ETH 3783.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54