Myanmar ~ A Kind Deed

in #travel7 years ago

Tonight was my last night in Myanmar, a beautiful country filled with beautiful people, amazing temples and great food.
I decided to watch a movie on my last night as it has been over a year since I last went to the cinema.
After walking about 50m I noticed a small child with legs no bigger than the size of 2 of my fingers, he reminded me of one of the Ethiopian/African humanitarian adverts one would occasionally see in a magazine or on TV, he was piecefully asleep on the footpath with his mum and what I can only guess to be his grandma or aunty.
Feeling blessed and thankful for my life I sat down next to them and with a gentle Mingalarbar (a greeting that means auspiciousness to you/hello)
I gave the mother half the money in my wallet and continued on my way to go get a massage with the other half.
After walking for about about 45 minutes I past a man sleeping on the sidewalk with only 1 leg and his head resting on his old beat up walking crutch, next to him lay his wife and next to her there baby girl no more than 3 years old.
Feeling this man and his family needs a helping hand more than I need a massage I pulled out the rest of my Burmese kyat leaving only enough for the taxi to the airport the next day I walked back to where he and his family slept and woke him up with a gentle mingalarbar and handed him the rest of my kyat, he gave a shy smile and thanked me as I wished him good luck in Burmese.
I tell all of you my friends this because some people get dealt a really ruff deal in life.
Everyone needs a helping hand sometimes, so if your hand is free extend it to someone in need and help make their day a little better.
Love, peace & coconuts

Sort:  

Congratulations @madan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @madan! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @madan! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58566.25
ETH 2542.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48