The Unspoken Law About Dressing

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

It’s not faithin technology.It’s faithin people.jpg

Sometimes I miss the memory but not the place.

Wednesday 7 February 2018

I reached out the destination at about 2 pm and I found the home was still empty. My Amom was still working and hadn't come back home yet. So, I decided to visit a nearby supermarket and did a little grocery.

For the note, the city I am currently visiting is a little conservative town in the east. The inhabitants are mostly retired people and little kid meanwhile, the youngsters are seeking education and job in metropolitan area. Having to left the city after years, I didn't know suddenly dressing was a big issue.

So, after I freshened up and left my backpack at home, I changed my attire to shorts and plain t-shirt. As I got out from the house, I've got a lot of stare from people around me since it appeared I didn't dress as the common norm.

All across the supermarket and shops I've been to, the girls were wearing hijab. It wasn't something I normally see in my current city as everyone can dress whatever they want but here, I felt I was completely different.

This has been a concern lately. I felt the whole world is suddenly limiting one's choice even when it comes to dressing. It especially disgust me when someone is blaming a rape victim because their way of dressing. I wholeheartedly believe, it is an individual choice to dress whatever they want. I am also aware of fact that there is a common norm on how to dress but in a moderate country that's not running their law based on a certain religion, this shouldn't be happening.

Long short story, I went home that day and told my amom my whole experience. Later on, she told me next time I went out and alone, I should dress modest instead wearing shorts as if it was a beach. This wasn't the city that I used to live and even more, I saw little children were having no choice but to wear something they might not agree with.


I am trying to dress as modest as I can

This resonates with my current experience visiting a piss-poor aquatic center that was very dirty and did not seem to follow safety guidelines for its slides.


This was taken right after the sky turned gray. It was sunny when I reached there

I went from home and obviously wore a proper swimsuit in hope everyone will do so. Apparently, as I reached there with my cousin, everyone was wearing cotton t-shirt and fully clothed to swim. It was such an uneasy feeling to be the only one wearing a proper swimsuit. It wasn't like this when I was a little child. My family used to take me swimming and everyone was okay wearing bikini and swimsuit back in the late 90's.

In the end, I said, well fuck that! It was sunny and all I want was dipping my feet into the water and tried the slides.

Speaking about it, that was really scary and awful. The ladder to reach the slides was very slippery and anyone can die at an unexpected time-- I might be exaggerating but with water and moss all over it, a little kid can trip and die. First hand, I knew I shouldn't expect much from something that cost 1.5$ but that was just me being me.

My cousin and I had fun even at first, he was scared to try the slides and almost trip himself on the way.

Recently, dressing has been a very big issue. Why do we try to control someone's choice of dressing? So what,if one's wanted to be naked? So what, if one's wanted to be fully clothed? So what, if one's wanted to hide from the world? Isn't it their individual choice to dress? I am okay with anyone dressing the fuck they want as long as they don't try to impose their beliefs on me.

So, what do you think? Should someone tell us what to dress and what not? Tell me your opinion below.

Find me on |Github | Be Awesome|

witness_ @ocd-witness.jpg

witness_@stoodkev.jpg

Macchiata.jpg

Sort:  

:) hi macc. i think ppl should be allowed to dress in what makes them comforable. with that said, tho, there are the extreme cases that can cause safety issues or other bad situations.. but as far as bathing suit or shorts, etc.. it's not even a big deal..

@chinito, I think dress based on the occasion is fine but I am against someone telling what I should wear and not. It's definitely an individual rights to express ourselves in the way we dress.

I feel like in some situations yes someone should tell you how to dress, I wouldn't want someone coming to my wedding wearing their man thong and a coconut bra, or showing up to a funeral with bright flashy colors if it wasnt noted as a request to do so.

For school uniforms its a hard one. If it they can be provided to the people attending the school sure but make the clothing options open for everyone. If some boy wants to wear a skirt let him if it is a clothing option for the girls. If the girls want to wear shorts or pants let them if its a option for the boys.

But I agree there is no excuse for someone to rape someone because of the clothes they wear that is just unheard of and stupid.

@lifewithdanny,

For school uniforms, well this is a tricky one since it's been a hot topic in any debate class especially where I am currently reside, the la la land.
Some argue that wearing uniform will erase the appearance gap between the rich and the poor. On the other hand, some argue that it's limiting individual choice to dress as school should be the place to educate people about their rights as an individual.
In some conservative countries and even in the US, there are this sentiment that dress is what causes rape to happen.This is pure stupidity and I hate this.

Live and let live,

Have a great day!

sometimes I miss the memory but not the place - I loved it! That’s so true! Sometimes when we go back to the old place it doesn’t look the same because it has changed with time( everything and everyone changes but for good) and if it doesn’t change for good then it is a setback my dear friend. It is difficult when you can’t relate to the place or people which were so dear to you or which have some fond memories.
As far as dressing is concerned being a woman I feel this is one of the issue these days which we all are fighting for on different levels. It is unfortunate how a woman is labelled and judged by her clothes.

well that something new for me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66