BALI ON THE ROAD - I Went to Ubud and Tried Planting Rice

in #travel6 years ago (edited)


「Ubud Days」


| Local Balinese life, Rice fields, Friendly people |

Fresh Fields.jpg



We visited a random place
Bali, Indonesia

As soon as we unpacked our belongings, we checked google maps for places to go. We didn't really like anything that's touristy and we found a dead end path that lead us to this amazing view of rice fields.

P1030067.JPG

We went to explore the path walk that was lined up with local artist who sell their painting for a living. Their artwork is unique and colorful. It's something novel for me seeing the rice field with a touch of art around it.

P1030077.JPG

We also tried to capture a beautiful shots of this goose but we ended up scaring them away.



How I helped a Balinese planting Rice
Ubud Bali, Indonesia

On the way, I spotted a woman who was planting rice. It's not something new for me to just randomly offering help to local farmer. I think it can teach us how to appreciate the food that we are consuming by learning and knowing the process of doing it.

P1030095.JPG

She was giggling and started speaking in a distinct language mixed with a little bit of English.She gladly accept my offer and here we are,

I admitted that I did it in a wrong direction. I was a bit messing up with pattern and then, I just let my fear of snakes out of my mind and began planting the rice like a pro.

P1030117.JPG

After we finished the whole plot, she offered us a coconut water that she brought with her. It was such a nice gesture and we got it for 20000/idr. That was the least we can do, since we messed the plantation a little bit. I forgot to ask her name but I would really love to go back and thank her for amazing experience she gave me.

If you are a nature lover, just don't forget to miss an opportunity to help local farmer planting rice field and see yourself, how exhausting and long it is for a rice to be served on your plate.





Spending The Sunset in the rice field
Ubud Bali, Indonesia

P1030133.JPG



Our Little Note
Ubud Bali, Indonesia

We spent some more time exploring the area until we decided that it was dark enough to go. I advise anyone, if you wish to have a different experience, it's always better to explore this area on your own. This place is less unexplored unlike tegalalang. The locals speak a little bit of English, like simple english and they're friendly enough to have a small talk. I would also advise you to offer a help when you spot someone planting rice, I am telling you, it was a fun experience. Until then, I will be coming with the next series of the Ubud Days.


If you like what we are doing, any support is appreciated.


Sort:  

Bali. It is the best tourist attraction in Indonesia, although in recent days had been hit by bad weather and some places around the coast was damaged by the waves, but the local government will soon renovate. And I'm sure Bali will recover and become a tourist attraction that is always missed by all the tourists who've been there.

@ct-art The weather is unfriendly at the moment but it's quite decent to be living in Bali :)
Saya suka tinggal di Bali

Traveler @macchiata. Amazing view but I guess you were thirsty, hence an old women gave you a coconut. LoL:)

Asyik nih jalan-jalan di Bali. Ajak kami dunk kak.

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51