5#Backpack Me : Amazing Burger Lunch Paid with STEEM/SBD at Big Hug Burger Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever thought of paying food with Steem/SBD?

BURGER.jpg

After an exhausted hike and having fun feeding the monkey at Batu Cave, Joanne and Aaron took us to visit Big Hug Burger, a burger joint owned by @danielwong with a selling point that the visitor can pay using Steem/SBD with their menu specially designed for steem/sbd payment.

Prior to my visit, I knew couple of business model which implement steem/sbd as their payment but Big Hug Burger was the first place I visited and tried. Having to implement cyptrocurrency as payment is a bold decision since the price fluctuates and the seller has to make adjustment. Hopefully in the future there will be certainty regarding the usage of cryptocurrency as a payment instrument so entrepreneur and businessman can implement this type of payment.

Now, let me take you to my experience having a juicy burger at Big Hug.

The place is located in a food complex which looking somewhat like a shopping mall. I can not even differentiate between shopping mall or office since Kuala Lumpur is full of sky scrappers. The interior design is suitable for casual meetup, small birthday party ( I was lucky seeing there were school kids celebrating their birthday) or simply a working space.

I was confused when they handed me the menu list since everything look so good and delicious. So, I was letting @joannewong to pick for me. Honestly , I was about to pick seafood burger.Then, I remembered, I am slightly allergic to it so I dropped the idea. Finally, I settled with Mario series beef with fries instead of sausage.

After seeing joanne's burger with sausage, I wished I would've ordered sausage instead of fries.

Picture courtesy : @aaronleang

I was honestly never fan of Burger but theirs was different. The patty was very tender and juicy. It was also flavorful and not greasy unlike every Burger I ate previously.

Another selling point from Big hug is that they provide free flow softdrinks! so if you love cola, pepsi and the likes; this place should be your #1 to go while visiting Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

We spent sometime inside big hug and I got a chance to meet and talk with the owner @danielwong and other steemians as well. After the lunch, Joanne and Aaron were very nice to let me stay at their beautiful place for the night since I had a bed bug problem in my first hostel.

Finally,

If you're in Kuala Lumpur and stumble upon this post, visit Big Hug immediately and have the best burger of your life 😃 !

If you want to read another experience of this visit Batu Caves and Steem Burger Lunch

Cheers to many more flights,

With ❤️ macchiata

Find me on |Github | Be Awesome|

witness_ @ocd-witness.jpg

witness_@stoodkev.jpg

Macchiata.jpg

Sort:  

Lots of steemed items on the menu? :-P

The burger looks tasty. Next time I'm in KL I will certainly pay @danielwong a visit at his Big Hug Burger!

@feduzzi, well I regretted only taking one menu since joanne was telling me it's huge enough. It indeed was huge yet I craved more.

Paid with sbd? Aw, such a luxury!
How far we are from this at my place....

@aschatria.

perhaps you will have to cross a continent to reach this burger paid with steem!
you can start your own if you wish :D I'll fly there if needed!
Liberland shall do this thingy!

😉 and paid with steem that's the best part

Glad you were able to get a bed without bed bugs @macchiata. That must have been a relief! 😁
What fun to be able to buy your meal with Steem/SBD. Was it quite complicated to do? If there was a queue of people waiting to pay with crypto would it be a really slow process and a lot of waiting for payments to go through?
Have a fun day! 😊

@gillianpearce, Thank you for following my journey till now 😃 . It was indeed such a relief I have finally got a place to stay for the night. There's a actually more story behind that but it was fun being able to buy a meal with steem.

It was pretty easy to do that since they have a special cashier called bighugin on steemit. The account is use to do the steemit transaction. There's not much people pay with steem/sbd but well it's still growing.

Ah. I see @macchiata. I think I'd heard of bighugin but I didn't know what it did.
I'm not sure how a retailer can use it though when Steem is so volatile. I wonder if they have to change their prices everyday. I wouldn't have thought that was a feasible long term business model, Especially when they have to pay for ingredients in FIAT.
Have a fun weekend!

Wow! That is awesome. Can't wait until we can all pay with steem everywhere. Viva la revolucion!!

@marcovanhassel, haha well at least we can pay with cryptocurrency that's going to be awesome. Viva la revolucion !

loved the tour/explanation, the burger looks extremely tasty and im also slight allergic to seafood

@neri0x can you believe it? we can pay with steem/SBD and it was very tasty.

we get closer to a world were we are free to pay however we want

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team. If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

@goldendawne, thank you for stumbling upon this post. I am gladly accepting the offer :))

have a great day!

I have turned in the nomination- have a great weekend!

Congratulations human. This post is featured in today's Muxxybot curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-curation-67

Wow amazing! This is exactly what I was talking about in my recent blog (paying with steem in the real world.) I love it. And the food looks really good. The pictures are fantastic. Thanks for sharing your journey and experience.

@omitaylor thank you for having a visit and manage to read my experience paying a burger with steem.Someone has to start somewhere right? but the price fluctuation made it slightly imposible to create a fixed price.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61092.62
ETH 2666.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62