Norway - trolls, cold, darkness and Vikings? Not this time!

in #travel6 years ago

Hello, welcome and greetings my dearest Steemians!

Norway, action! Cut! What first thought appears in your head? Fjords, cold, darkness, trolls, Vikings or maybe… salmon?! Probably a bit of everything ;) At least I had these pictures in my mind. Still it was totally different from what I experienced there. Why is that? Well, enjoy this reading :)

I booked my trip to Norway a few days before my holiday in Thailand in Feb this year. I asked myself: "Norway? Eeee… why not!". But as a person ABSOLUTELY adoring the sun I flinched at the thought of low temperatures, which I associated with Scandinavia. And here is the first positive disappointment - the whole week sun, sun, sun and once again - SUN! This was accompanied by, of course, high temperature - it was hotter than in Spain ;)

P_20180602_164424_BF-01.jpeg

I spent these beautiful seven days near Bergen. After landing, together with my companions, we quickly escaped to the bosom of nature. On the way from the airport, I could enjoy the sight of the views that stretched out just after leaving the city. And it was really breathtaking. What am I saying, I became mute, because I didn’t want to disrupt the natural order. When we arrived at our place, the absolute wilderness never sounded so fantastic.

P_20180529_115725-01.jpeg

Immediate acclimatization

Honestly, as soon as I dropped my luggage and went to lie on the grass, I felt at home straight away. And you know what? At sight I forgot about the internet, phone, computers, music. In fact, I forgot about the whole world. Seriously! The street traffic was close to zero, the neighbors might have been somewhere, but nobody could be seen or heard so much. And just at that moment I realized how silence is wonderful.
How I missed it.
How cool is to lie on soft grass and touch the ground with your bare feet.

Do you know this feeling? Or maybe you have never tried it? If not, then do it wherever you are right NOOOOOW! :)

The only thing that was able to disrupt the new Norwegian order was my stomach :D In the end, you cannot fool life ;) In terms of lying on the grass, these are the views that greeted me every morning:

IMG-20180607-WA0314-01.jpeg

P_20180528_190130-01.jpeg

What else surprised me in Norway in the very begining?

Man's subordination to nature, not vice versa - nature to man.

How it was visible? Ubiquitous forests or lack of garbage bins in the mountains.
No garbage bins in the mountains? Oh yes! Norwegians assume that communing with nature is for free, however the whole mess that people bring there, needs to be taken back with them as well. Simple as that. And this is a phenomenal approach. This is one tiny example of a completely different mindset that I adore. Other examples are:

  • you will not find any spray deodorants in Norway,
  • the state "pays" to the residents to buy tesla - among others no customs duties, special tax registration discounts, no fees for using road infrastructure, etc.
  • instead of cutting the tree to be able to build a road, another trick was invented in this country - you will find here, for example, two opposite stripes of a road around the tree :D
  • any investments such as new bridge are paid for all users until the financial outlays are returned.

These are just a few of many examples of how people can care for what surrounds them.

P_20180529_120048-01.jpeg

Cottages guest houses in the mountains

I was very surprised when I heard that in this country there is something similar to couchsurfing. The difference is that you don’t stay at somebody’s private place with the owner. The thing here is that if you are in the mountains and you find an empty house, you can just go inside and stay for some time. Usually until somebody else shows up. While we were walking in the mountains, we found one place like this. Of course, curiosity won and I needed to have a look inside - a very cozy interior. I think that each of you would love to stay in such cottage at least for a few nights.

IMG-20180607-WA0285-01.jpeg

Of course and invariably everyone using such a house leaves it in order :)

Mountains, hills, lakes, steep slopes and once again hills

In addition to lying on a soft grass, some movement would never hurt;) During one of the trekkings, we managed to reach the top of one of the hills where we found a beautiful lake. The water may not have been super warm, but it was definitely refreshing. Anyway, have a look yourself:

P_20180531_123559-02.jpeg

received_10156186253470792.jpeg

Bergen

The other day we went to Bergen to visit the city. "Old Town" is really picturesque, but I must admit that after a few days in nature, the city noise made us want to run away. Which we actually did hahaha - we just went for another trekking to the most famous observation deck in Bergen - Mount Floyen. The views were of course breathtaking :) and for lazy people it is always possible to go up/down with the cable car.

20180614_152636.jpg

What I will never forget from my trip to Norway?

Glacier!

IMG-20180607-WA0245-01.jpeg

Yes! We also went to reach the tongue of the glacier. Before we came there, we passed this lake:

P_20180603_163929-01.jpeg

P_20180603_173317-01.jpeg

Of course, we could not resist and we jumped straight into the lake - highly recommended! Although the water from the glacier was nothing like warm, it is absolutely an incredible experience! Later on, a "little" climbing began. During small stops when you are thinking how to get higher, don’t look down! Personally, I got scared a few times, but somewhere inside me, this quiet but strong voice kept on pushing me higher and higher ;)

And… WE DID IT! The prize for overcoming fears was absolutely stunning:

received_10156186253445792.jpeg

The other side view was also amazing!

received_10156186252665792.jpeg

I really like to be positively disappointed while traveling

Of course, I did not doubt the potential of Norway, but I certainly did not expect so many beautiful experiences. For me, this place is absolutely the most beautiful in Europe, in which I had the pleasure to be so far. Norway also allowed me to relax mentally, physically, helped me get to know myself better and made it easier to take a few, I think, life decisions. What are the decisions? Certainly, the nearest months will be a breakthrough. I will also share the news with you, but in due course. I wouldn’t like to spoil the surprise ;)

received_10156186252490792.jpeg

With this a little bit nostalgic accent I finish this post. Take care of yourselves my dears.

Stay tuned :)

Lynxia

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Stunning photos and beautiful travel blog. I wish I'd get the chance to visit Norway someday! 😍

By the way, you might want to include #travelfeed #photocircle #swmchallenge in your tags. They are amazing group of people who are curating great travel contents, and I bet this would really get noticed as this is an exceptional blog. Who knows this will also be curated by @curie. 🤗

More travels and keep steeming! 💚

Hi Meetmysuperego! Thank you very much for your kind words! I absolutely recommend Norway, you would never regret it!

And thank you also for the advice - I will keep this in my mind while creating a new post! :)

I will visit here someday, really appealing photos. Thank you for sharing. Much love from Africa.

Hi papaudeme! Thank you for your kind words, I really recommend visiting Norway! Love from Poland currently :)

Reading about someones visit to the country I live in, can be interesting. But some corrections may be in order too ;) But first a question:

Did you visit in the mouth of May? As during that entier month was a part of what is a rare occurance of sunny and no rain for over a month. That rarelly happens, usually it only lasts for a max of 3 days to 1 week. Then some rain.

Then to your points.
The gouvernment/state does in no way pay us to buy electric cars, but its less taxes on them for periodes to encurage people to buy them. a very high % of the price on cars is various taxes in Norway.Hence cars is expensive

We do pay to use the roads, its an enforced tax that we must pay every year for owning a car, that goes to roadework. And large bridge and tunnle projects are payed for by a fee for passing it ontop of that.

Where did it look like they split the roade up to avoide cutting the tree? Are you sure the trees was not planted there after and the roade was split up to prevent accidents from cars getting in the wrong lane? As that is done some places.

Also its not like if you find any cottage when venturing into the mountains, you can just walk in an use it, but there is some that is built for that purpuse. So that tourists and locals can take longer trips and take brakes inside huts built that everyone have access to.

Lastly; ar eyou use to there being garbidge bins everywhere you walk? even in the mountains? Really? That creates bad habbits and is there for lazy people from my point of view. Its really easy to take the garbage back with you from the trips. IT whould make the mountains ugly and littered to be honest if bins was to be installed on every path. Respect nature insted :)

Hi Jostein! Many thanks for your looong comment! :) I was there in the end of May/begining of June. I also heard that that kind of weather is not something usual to experience especially near to Bergen, where I was.
By writing that state "pays" I meant that the government encourages inhabitants to buy them. That is why I used quotation marks :)
I didn't know about the enforced tax, so thank you very much for this information, I really appreciate it! :)
If it comes about the tree it was on one of the roads from Bergen to Arland.
In terms of the cottages - thank you once again, I was so overwhelmed with this information that I took it as if all of the cottages found high in the mountains would be accessible :)
Lastly also - garbage/bins - well in my country you can find it in some places even in the mountains, also when I was aborad I recall that there were such instances. And I absolutely agree with you that we need to respect the nature :)

Thank you once again for your comment, always something new to learn :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16