You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Constant Traveler - Why Are Some People More Prone To Travel Than Others?

in #travel6 years ago

I've never understood those who are born in a town and grow old and die in that same town; I went to high school with many who have done just that and it's so depressing to me, although I'm assuming they're perfectly ok with it all.

The gene "explanation" is really interesting too, and of course, it's not the only answer, but it's a piece of the puzzle for sure. My grandfather immigrated from Belgium to Canada on his own at 16 years of age; my father traveled across Canada with a young family working, until he ended up settling back in his home town, where he still lives to this day. My mother calls me a gypsy, but I think is a little envious of what Brian and I have done. If it wasn't for Brian's poor health, we'd probably be moving on from here already, but for now, this is a pretty perfect layover :)

Like you, I love exercising my brain and learning a new language and culture, and I'm so glad to hear you're enjoying your latest journey. Thank you for the links; I'll have to watch closely for your posts from Thailand too :)

Happy travels!

Sort:  

I could never understand that either. I have a friend, the guitarist in my last band, who never left his town until he toured with me. When he told me that I was just floored with disbelief. I couldn't even imagine it. He just recently posted on Facebook that he's leaving with his new girlfriend to Tulsa of all places. That's a start I guess. Hahahaha

I've been traveling since I can remember. My first trip on my own was to Paris, France when I was 12-years old. I had a note from my parents and a place I was staying there but felt so grown up getting on the plane by myself. I hitchhiked across the US from California to New York when I was 16. The travel bug has been with me all my life and there's no sense in stopping now.

Thanks for taking the time to read and comment on these posts. I really appreciate it.

hahaha Tulsa of all places!! That's hilarious :)

Wow, you really did get bit with the travel bug! 12 years old and going to Paris! Most parents today won't let their kids go to the corner store at that age, hovering around or putting tracking devices in their backpacks :)

It's my pleasure reading great posts like yours :) Enjoy Thailand; I'll be enjoying with you along the way!

If my parents would have put trackers on me I would have ditched them in the most peculiar locations, keeping them on a wild goose chase. Hahahaha!

Thankfully, we were free-range kids and had to be dragged home usually after dark. They tried to reign me in without much luck. Eventually, we signed a treaty and I started to call home before it got dark, often forgetting to do so. I'm sure I drove them nuts with worry. Oops.

I went camping for three days without telling anyone when I was 11. Had a great time fishing and hiking until I got home. It never even occurred to me they could be worried or I should have asked permission.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60521.50
ETH 3005.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85