Traveling with 3 Small Kids and Enjoying It

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

We just recently decided to head to New York for my cousin's wedding because @corinnestokes was asked to be the photographer. There isn't a budget for the shoot, but my aunt did plan to fly her out there. We figured, why don't we all go? We were already planning on driving to RESTfest, so now we'll just hang out in New York for a bit longer and then head down to South Carolina.

Working for myself allows me to work from anywhere, even a car traveling at 70 mph.

Here's a short video of our travel day today (Wednesday, September 7th) along with a really sweet hotel Corinne found with an indoor water park. Thankfully, my back is feeling much better and was pretty good during the drive. We usually try to do short drives (4 to 5 hours), but today's was 7 so we had to include an ice cream stop along the way.


(I'm also having fun learning iMovie)

I wanted to share this here because I've been thinking more about what Steemit is to me. It's not just a place to publish essays and be rewarded financially. It's not a place to be one-sided and share just what "my audience" wants to hear from me (whatever that might be).

For me, Steemit is becoming my digital home. It's my hangout spot and a place to store my memories on the blockchain. Not everything done here will be for my followers or for upvotes. Some of it will just be for me, and I think that's okay.

Every post doesn't have to be perfect. I'm not always going to be talking about stats or programming or entrepreneurship or morality. Sometimes I may just be sharing memories or random ideas. I want Steemit to be my Twitter, Facebook, and Medium. Maybe I'm asking too much, but occasionally I might even share a selfie or a picture of my meal. Once my friends and family show up, that's what they'll want to see once in a while. Those silly moments keep us connected in the "every day" part of our lives.

Steemit will be what we decide to make it. Not all of our posts will be liked by others. Not all of our posts will be meant for others. Sharing life moments together is fun too.

Steem On
~ Luke

Sort:  

For me, Steemit is becoming my digital home. It's my hangout spot and a place to store my memories on the blockchain. Not everything done here will be for my followers or for upvotes. Some of it will just be for me, and I think that's okay.

I really like this concept.

For some reason, I haven't strayed into the family posts at all. Part of me is still paranoid about putting my family out into the wild west of the interwebz.

You may have just lit a fire under me, good sir. Maybe I'll have to start making some posts about how much of a goofball my son is ? :)

Goofball sons are the best. :)

I've pretty much always shared pictures and videos of my family because they are a big part me. Some people have legitimate fears about online over sharing because of bad experiences. Others are ignorant of the dangers. I'm probably more on the latter category.

Looking so fun to me @lukestokes. Hotel looks amazing. Keep sharing with us

Thank you! The hotel is actually reasonably priced also. Just over $100.

What a sweet video; really nice to see you and your gorgeous family; and good to see that you seemed to be moving well and your back seems better.

:-)

Cg

Thanks Cg. I took the advice from the comments, ate some turmeric with milk and drank a healthy amount of rum one night and wine the next. I think that really helped calm the nerves which then released the muscles. My hip is still not happy, but the back is doing much better than it was this past weekend. I was really concerned how it would handle the drive. So far, so good.

I remember years ago I worked at a call center setting up cable for people. Favorite call... Lady bit harried sounding had just pulled into their new house after cross country drive with three kids....
"Three kids, wow. How many did you start with?"

Hahah... for real. We do a lot of road trips with the kids and sometimes it can be rough. Today was a great day though. :)

Yeah, pretty much. :)

As for me travelling with 3 children is really a heroic act. If I travelled this way, I would immediately get after the trip to the madhouse. So for me you are a hero @lukestokes. I am sure that you are a hero for your children too))

Some times we end our driving days at a Mexican restaurant specifically so mommy and daddy can get margaritas. :)

Your three year old can film. Just needs a little more practice. :)

Indeed! The kids love filming. I'll just have to teach them about not blocking the camera with their fingers.

I like your comment "some of it will be for me and that's ok" !

Thanks for posting something normal. Maybe someday we'll be saying, "Hey, do you remember back when you had to post a long, intelligent sounding essay just to get paid."

Hope you sleep well with all that Chinese food in your belly :)

Thanks Jason. I do think rewards lend themselves to really great content/essays, but maybe there's room for some sillyness also.

And yeah, took quite a while to sleep but that's probably more due to the five hour energy drink earlier in the day and my 5 yo coughing through most of the night.

Thanks for sharing, Luke! ;-) Steem Fun On...

Thanks! We've had a great trip so far. Back on the road today, and I'm working away. 6 hours and 15 minutes drive time (but with kids you can usually add an hour or 5 to that. Hehehe.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62213.63
ETH 2420.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59