Hello Steemit from Destin, Florida!

in #travel7 years ago

I'm on vacation this week and wanted to pause a moment and reflect on how much I appreciate the Steemit community.

Thank you!

We're here in Destin, Florida for the second year in a row, and it's been fantastic so far.

I started day two of our vacation with mimosas and couldn't figure out how to get the cork back in the champaign bottle, so I took that to mean we had to finish the whole thing.

Mission Accomplished!

Since there's no glass allowed on the beach, and I forgot to mention to @corinnestokes we should buy cans instead of bottles, I learned today how this thermos holds exactly two bottles worth of beer. :)

IMG_7454.png

We eat out most nights while on vacation and last night's trip to Tommy Bahama's was fantastic. This shrimp, miso, pork belly masterpiece reminded me how I need more ramen in my life.

IMG_7453.png

Every bite tasted of bacon. What more could you ask for?

Tonight we grilled up some steaks and they were fantastic! There's a shared grill near the pool, and I made the most of it.

IMG_7461.png

IMG_7462.png

IMG_7464.png

IMG_7465.png

I'm so thankful to be part of the Steemit community and to watch this platform develop. I think we're part of something really important here, and that's not something which happens often. Thank you for following me and contributing to the discussions I value so much.

Do you have any vacations planned? What are your favorite vacation spots?

Steem On


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, voluntaryist, and blockchain enthusiast. He wants to help create a world we all want to live in.

Sort:  

I enjoyed this video, it's nice to get a glimpse into someone's life. I read your post on the military, but I was very late to the party and the comment section was overwhelming--which is a good thing, I just didn't want to end up repeating sentiments as reading the entire dialogue isn't feasible timewise right now. But I agree with you, just thought I'd throw that in here, there was a time when it was unfair to villainize the soldiers, when they had no idea what was really going on and didn't have the information at their fingertips, but these days it doesn't take much research to see that the only thing their serving is the agenda of greed/control/power oriented people.
It's awesome that you're having a great time, that's a spectacular spot. My parents used to rent a condo on Myrtle beach for the month of October every year until my dad became physically incapable, and we'd generally stay with them for a week. So I know how glorious it is to have the sound of ocean waves outside your window and a fantastic view from a balcony.
(I also recall a number or mornings where my brother and I began it with mimosas...as we waited for the tiki bar to open at noon :)
You're such a positive force on this site, I'm bouncing your gratitude back atcha. Have an amazing rest of your trip!

Thanks so much. :)

We just got back today, and I'm already thinking about where we want to go next.

I always heard that Destin had some killer beaches, as in super clean and crystal clear. True or false?

True. Watch the video for evidence. :)

Hope you have a great vacation! Destin has the whitest beaches I have ever seen! Enjoy some dinner at Pompano Joe's if you get a chance!

Thanks for the recommendation! Looks fantastic! I'll suggest it to @corinnestokes.

Steem on Luke! Loved what you said about being able to look back on this and be proud, I can definitely relate to that feeling. I just got here and it's amazing how immediate that feeling of gratitude is with this community. PS I'm a marketing consultant for a small biz here in San Antonio, TX. I'd love to talk more with you about Foxy and how you think it could benefit a service business.

Thanks Chrissy. I'lll keep you in mind, though we already have some things in play. Can you give me some examples of how you might benefit us and our users? I'd have to sell anything to my business owner as well, so it has to be compelling.

Welcome to Steemit, btw. It's a pretty amazing place to be.

Oh, maybe I'm not understanding the business correctly. When I clicked on the Foxy link I understood it was a platform for helping businesses get sales. I'm working with Residential Cleaning Service and I was thinking about how awesome it would be to have the coupon feature available to us.

We're an ecommerce platform enabling people to add checkout services easily to their existing websites and platforms with support for about 90 different payment gateways and payment methods . If you need coupons or improved checkout functionality, we might be a great option for you. It's free to sign up and only involves creating links or forms to get started.

I'll look into it some more, thanks!

Oh yeahhhhh, enjoy that salty gulf breeze! Go build some sand castles for us and take a trip down to the Crab Shack! You won't regret it!

We missed the Crab Shack this time, but may next time. Thanks for the recommendation!

Destin, FL....you're in my neck of the woods. Ok, ok maybe 3 hours up the road, but close enough! :-) Enjoy our heat!

The beach and pool have made it just fine so far. This is a great time to visit.

Great view brother - enjoy the time out there.

Thank you! So far, it's been an amazing time.

Love Destin! I was stationed in Pensacola twice as a Marine and consider that area my second home. Welcome to Steemit and enjoy your vacation!

It's our second time here in as many years, and we love it!

"Every bite tasted of bacon. What more could you ask for?" I truly don't know, haha.

My wife and I are off to Smith Mountain Lake in 2 weeks. My grandparents have a house there and it is appropriately named "The Sanctuary."

Enjoy time with your family in Destin!

Roanoke, Virginia? Looks nice!

Thanks, we're having a blast so far.

Roanoke indeed.

May the sun keep shining for you guys!

It's been fantastic for us so far. :)

Ah, Destin! Been there a few times myself. Caught a hammerhead in the surf there. White sandy beaches with greenish blue water. Good times. good memories. Enjoy!

A hammerhead head? Wow. How big?

Hey Luke! Not very, only about 5 to 6 ft. Big enough that I cut the line though. It was a fun day. My cousin was with me and couldn't believe it. First and only HH I've ever caught.

Geez! 5 to 6 feet would still blow my mind!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87