Centennial State Diary – Manitou Springs Penny Arcade

in #travel7 years ago

manitou_springs penny_arcade_2016_(22)__fluid.jpg

Manitou Springs Penny Arcade
930 Manitou Avenue
Manitou Springs, CO

A Brief History of Manitou Springs

manitou_springs_historic.jpg

Manitou Springs started out as sacred Indian land where the native North American Plains Indian Tribes (such as the Ute, the Arapahoe) drank and soaked in the springs. The water from the springs runs through the limestone karst aquifers. The limestone from the aquifers dissolves into the water, creating carbonic acid, naturally carbonating the water and causing effervescence. The Plains Indians believed the effervescence was, "the breath of the Great Spirit Manitou" and the mineral waters were thought to have medicinal properties. The land was named Manitou by the Plains Indian tribes and shared amongst the tribes without fear or worry of conflict.

In the summer of 1820, Army topographical engineer Stephen H. Long led a scientific expedition, “from the Mississippi to the Rocky Mountains,” to explore the Rocky Mountains and the Platte, Arkansas and Canadian Rivers. Doctor Edwin James served as botanist and geologist during the expedition and led the first recorded ascent to Pike’s Peak. It was during this ascent he first discovered Manitou Springs and its reputed healing waters.

Inspired by the writings of Dr. James, General William J. Palmer, and Doctor William A. Bell visited the region, and on October 27, 1870, they formed and incorporated the Denver and Rio Grande Railway. The company laid its first rails from Denver, CO on July 28, 1971, and opened its first spur in Colorado Springs on October 21, 1971. By 1881, a rail spur from Colorado Springs to Manitou Springs was completed, and it became known as the "Saratoga of the West." Celebrities such as P.T. Barnum, Thomas Edison, and Lillie Langtry frequented Manitou Springs, but the reputed healing waters of the springs made it a pilgrimage destination for people convalescing from "consumption" (tuberculosis).

The Penny Arcade and Free Springs

manitou_springs_arcade_sign.JPG

Vintage Arcade Games

manitou_springs_arcade_classic_english_football.JPG

While the penny arcade has classic arched games such as Donkey Kong, Centipede, and Spy Hunter, the Arcade has pinball machines and completely restored arcade classics. Generally speaking, if the cost of a game was $0.25 when it was originally released, the current price per play is $0.25. The arcade spans three city blocks in the heart of Manitou Springs.

manitou_springs_arcade_classic_ten_strike.JPG

manitou_springs_arcade_classic_horserace.JPG

Vintage Stereoscope Machines

manitou_springs_arcade_classic_stereoscope.JPG

A “Saratoga of the West” vintage arcade would not be complete without classic burlesque stereoscopes. In addition to restored boardwalk classics such as Skeeball, the penny arcade hosts a collection of the vintage stereoscopes. For the cost of a nickel, one can check out the old nickelodeons on display.

manitou_springs_arcade_classi_nickelodeans.JPG

The Springs of Manitou

manitou_springs_navajo_spring.JPG

During the heyday of Manitou Springs, no less than 50 springs were drilled in the city, and spring houses were erected. The springhouses remain, and many of the springs are open to the public and free to use. While all the springs have effervescent water, the water from each spring tastes dramatically different.

IMG_2200.JPG

The trip to Manitou Springs is about a one hour drive south of Denver, Colorado. On your next trip into Colorado, take some time to visit the “Saratoga of the West,” I guarantee it will not disappoint.

Sort:  

@lpfaust

this is very rich narratives and info you shared here...
Manitou Springs and its healing properties...Does it really have the healing properties or just a myth?

Very good info once more...thanks for sharing...

@kenhudoy thanks for reading and commenting on my post. I appreciate it.

The healing properties of hot springs were once contained in the realm of myth, but science is discovering there are some medicinal properties to bathing in hot springs such as: increased blood circulation, stress reduction, promotes better and deeper sleep, analgesic (pain relieving) properties and reliving certain skin conditions.

Personally, I find hot springs to be incredible. This winter I am thinking about hitting the hot springs in Glenwood Springs and I have plans for a Deeper Dive into a Salt Mine. The negative ions generated from the salt are supposed to be awesome for respiratory ailments.

wow..you got me there there...already wishful thinking on diving into the hot spring water...is the spring water warm all year...because you said you visiting during winter! Salt minyu said...hmmm....what an experience...! When best should one outside of the USA plan to visit and spend some good Steem dollars with family...guess they have nice lodgings and food....continental dishes...;)
thanks for the response

I enjoyed this very much I felt like I was on the trip with you

@journeyoflife thanks for taking the time to check out the post and drop a comment.

anitou Springs is just one part of an incredibly deep, historic area near Colorado Springs. I have a few others to cover in future installments (Garden of the Gods, Cliff Dwellings, etc.). Colordo has such a deep history of the American West.

I enjoy places that are rich in history , gives it a different taste . Hope you enjoyed it there

Nice article! What healing powers Manitou Springs have? Photos are excellent.

@shirish thanks for checking out the post and taking some time to comment. I appreciate interacting with those who read my posts.

The Rocky Mountain region of the United States has long been an area which has very active geothermal activity. As a result, there are a number of different springs throughout Colorado, and many of these springs, due to their high concentration of minerals, were long believed to be medicinal.

In the 1800's, 70 to 90 percent of urban populations were infected with tuberculosis bacillus, and about 80 percent of those who developed active tuberculosis died of it. It was often referred to as consumption. One of the most famous gunslingers in the history of the American West, John Henry "Doc" Holliday died from tuberculosis.

The mineral springs in both Manitou Springs, Colorado and Glenwood Springs, Colorado were believed to posess the ability to cure tuberculosis, and luxury resorts were built around these springs in the 1800's. The diseased and dying, infected with tuberculosis made pilgrimages, looking for a cure in those hot springs and the dry climate of the high desert.

Your posts are well researched thanks for the reply.

A good post, from the beginning to the end of the article is incredible.
Success continues for steemit friends, I vote you and I follow you.
I want to see the next post from you, I hope the post is better than before.
I salute you, you are amazing. Success continues for you !! Thanks :)

@memeddewi thanks for taking the time to read and comment. I appreciate the interaction with the readers.

I have future installments of this series (Centennial State Diaries) focused on a number of historic locations throughout Colorado, which will be sandwiched between a some of the other series I currently run (Subcultures and Social Trends, US Tax Considerations, American Heritage and Voices of the Past) .

Glad you've decided to follow and I hope you enjoy the future installments.

Thanks for sharing, it is my dream to travel to see the beautiful people, nature and different cultures around the world

@marshei17 thanks for reading my blog and commenting, I appreciate it.

I recently had a conversation with my daughter about the things which call to each of us. She asked both my wife and me what called to us. I told her it was the road which called to me - the adventure of unknown places and the friends I've yet to meet and share adventures with.

I would suggest you should not leave this in the realm of dreams. Find a way to respond to the call of the road. I would suggest Colorado is an excellent place for your first adventure in the United States.

very beautiful photos. I really enjoyed the history of Monitou Springs.....

@sanks7 thanks for checking out my blog and commenting.

History has always been one of my greatest loves and it's reflected through most of my blog posts. I feel historical context always makes for a great story.

I'm glad you enjoyed it.

A great post you narrated everything nicely it was like a great Experience for readers too

@blazing thanks for taking he time to read and comment.

I'm glad you enjoyed the piece. I have always been a huge history buff, and I believe history creates the context for an awesome story.

Definitely loved your work looking for more amazing post nice to meet you :)

Nice pictures and introduction to this place! That spring structure looks like a giant bottle opener.

@donkeypong thanks for the read, comment and upvote. I appreciate it, as always.

I thought I'd revive this series (Centennial State Diaries) because he longer I live here, the more I discover about this awesome state I live in. At some point, I need to do a whole piece on Glenwood Springs - possibly one of the coolest mountian towns I've been to so far. It's where John Henry "Doc" Holliday and Kid Curry are buried. Doc Holliday's grave is something awesome and the history is so incredible. There's also Buffalo Bill Cassidy's memorial and grave , and on and on. The history here is so deep for such a relatively young state.

Lately I suddenly have a ton of content I have in production for every one of the series I started, plus some new projects I have started to bring online. At some point, I have to catch up with you when I get to California.

A very nice post i enjoyed reading it.

@cutepie thanks for taking the time to check it out and comment. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

you had a great Trip,lovely to read it and see your Pics

@steemphotography thanks for taking some time to check out my post and leaving a comment.

I took a day trip with my family into Manitou Springs over the weekend, but in tuth, it's one of my most favorite spots in Colorado. Every October I am there with about 20,000 other people for the Coffin Races. In a future article I will cover that event and it's history. Manitou Springs is by far one of the coolest mountain towns in Colorado.

Glad you enjoyed the piece.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57831.03
ETH 3136.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42