Epic Food Journey Through Latin America: Experiencing Food and Family in Mexico City

in #travel7 years ago

In Mexico City, I am observing that food and family are intertwined.







Even when those dining together are not related the people present create a feeling of family around the food.







Everywhere I go I see food,
and with the food is always the presence of family.




~~~~~~~~~~~


I didn't have to do anything. This food just magically appears in front of me.


Other hostel guests and volunteers disappear out the front door
and quickly return with food.


It's beautiful how they often share with me!





Because of all the fresh bakeries everywhere
the ingredients for great sandwiches or tortas are easy to obtain.


I don't know what they did to that burger
but it had everything RiGhT with it.



These Chicken and Cheese Tacos are made fresh, right in front of the customer on the sidewalk.


The green tortillas are made from naturally GREEN corn.


Too bad, Monsanto!!







Kike comes in every morning to work reception.
One of the things he does everyday is cooks all of us a lunch.


He really knows how to develop some great flavors.





This is juice that another volunteer made.
It's a tea made from an herb I am not familiar with but it looks like rose petals.




Hopefully, I will soon learn.





Now is my turn to show off my cooking skills.


Kike took a day off from cooking so decided to make this soup.

When they asked what kind of soup it is I replied,


"The Bottom Drawer of the Refrigerator Soup."







I used my own potatoes and squash then added...







...ginger, leftover grilled corn, onions, peppers and lots of curry powder.


I used leftover chicken broth that Kike had made at an earlier date.







Only after a couple of days at the hostel, Punto DF,


the family environment was easily revealed to me but it did not stop there.







Upon strolling about in the surrounding neighborhood
I easily realized that the presence of family is everywhere,
unlike anything I have ever witnessed in the United States.







One afternoon I was lured by great aromas into this little restaurant.




While waiting for my food I discovered something very unexpected.







At first, I only saw this little boy, then I saw the little girl sitting between the refrigerator and the prep table.


Within a few moments I see them running out the back door to play.

After a couple minutes I see what is obviously abuelo or grandfather.


I begin to think about this.





Pretty much every business I go into or walk past there are children, teenagers, parents, grandparents together, working.


I am also watching this man cook my food.


Although, I don't really know what I ordered.


I just picked something random from the menu,

open to trying something new.







The deep fried foil technique is something I had never seen before.


It reminded me of the foil packs we made

when I used to take my daughters camping with the Girl Scouts.







However, aluminum is a horrible contamination to food.
Dr. Mercola says,
"Aluminum has been long known to be neurotoxic,
with mounting evidence that chronic exposure is a factor in many neurological diseases,
including dementia, autism, and Parkinson's disease..."







Regardless, it was an interesting technique that I will likely never try.


The food was moist, hot and delicious.

I blessed my food, gave it some Love then ate it all.


It cost 110 pesos. In dollars that's about $5.50.

For me, it was three meals.







Any day I take a walk scenes like this,


grandparents and children walking together,

playing together,
families together are everywhere.







Upcoming blogs will cover more FOOD.


Kike made enchiladas from scratch.


His process will be documented but first,


tomorrow, my post will tell the story of

my trip to Tenochtitlan,


that is, the Anthropology Museum that displays all the artifacts

from the Aztecs, Oaxaca, Toltecs, Mixtecs and so on.




and ALWAYS...



Sort:  

The 2nd photo, whats the name of that dish? Is that a stew or something?

Yes. me too, wonder about that. :)

Kind of wanted to sip some soup :)

The next blog I post of his cooking will be a step by step with ingredients. Awesome enchiladas. You're gonna love what he does when it's time for tortillas.

I'm loving that you are wanting to know more. I'll be giving more details on the future posts. Hope to see you around more. Grateful for the feedback.

There is no name. He just makes this stuff up. That broth was super friggin flavorful. It had chicken in it but when it was all gone I used the broth to make other stuff I just made up.

Shrimp looks really yummy!

Gotta love District Federal @loveon

What do you like about Distrito Federal?
I've only been here ten days so. I'm not sure.

Love the feedback and enthusiasm. Keep on!

Great photos of your travel experience, @loveon. What do you think about the fact that there is food everywhere in Mexico City?

It sucks that my body does not burn food faster and my stomach capacity is not much bigger. I wish I could try it all. I'm trying to taste everything just within a square kilometer from the hostel. Everyday the guys here keep bringing me more things to eat! Wut a problem, huh?

What a great life if that's my biggest problem! I'm very grateful for your feedback. I hope to see you around.

LOL, it sounds like the best life ever, @loveon!
BTW, I forgot to mention that I've just followed you. Your profile looks quite interesting and worth reading. You are more than welcomed to check mine as well ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57068.68
ETH 2988.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27