How and what to pack for your next trip - Packing Tipps

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Often times, a trip will only be as good as you are prepared for it. That’s why I want to present you my favorite must-pack objects for every short trip you're going to do in your future. This can be short weekend get-aways but also multi-week tours where you just don't want to bring too much luggage. This article will be the perfect packing and preparation guide for your smaller, more budget-y trips. Recommendations will range from what type of bag to bring to how to pack it and what other gadgets should be on the must-bring list.


  1. Bag - suitcase, dufflebag or backpack?
  2. Packing systems - necessary?
  3. Shoes - how to pack without making everything dirty?
  4. Traveling to another country?

Bags

The most important object to bring with you when you travel is obviously the bag. There are three types of luggage one can bring and finally, the choice depends a little on what kind of trip you are going on. Size-wise, I have talked to many people and most agree that around 50 liters are the perfect size. It's the size that would equal any hand luggage item of your choice or this duffle bag for example. An alternative would be a 50 liters backpack.

Check out my favorites:

Out of the three different types of luggage, I have started only using my North Face Duffle Bag 50l (first picture) because it has the perfect size, can be compressed to fit cabin luggage and it’s sooo robust. Another plus is, that you can easily carry it around and due to it’s size it allows you to bring everything you need without getting too heavy. Its inconvenient compared to a backpack is the lack of proper straps but if you don’t plan to go on a real hike, the lack of straps can be beneficial when checking in the back and when carrying it in general. North face gives life-long guarantee on their bags, so in case something breaks you can get an exchange easily.


Packing System

After choosing which bag to bring, it’s time to start packing. Here I highly recommend these packing cubes. They have definitely been the best thing I have purchased in a while and if you don't own any yet - it's time to get them!

Always having been a little skeptic towards these types of gadgets I was really surprised about how much they helped me to stay organized while on the road. The small ones fit perfectly in the Duffle Bag and it’s kind of like having a drawer at home. You can have different sizes and colors and I guess for my next bigger trip where I will bring a big suitcase I might order some more of these cubes as it not only helps to stay organized but also to compress more into less space.


Shoes

I always used to bring my shoes in plastic bags, but they are not only non-respiratory, so everything will smell bad after a while but they also look ugly. So I decided to order some beautiful shoe bags online, a purchase which you will certainly use until the day you loose or break them. Shoe bags offer a good way to keep your shoes separately from everything else.


Travel Adaptors

I’ve often enough forgotten to bring the right type of plug and adapter so I got myself one that I will just always leave in my bag. The big benefit of getting an adapter with USB plugs is that you can also use it if there are not too many plugs and you’re still able to charge two devices. Most of our devices have USB cables anyways so that’s what it’s good for.


I hope these little life hacks will be beneficial on your next trip and if you found any other ways to make packing and staying organized while travelling more easy, feel free to leave a comment. Have a great day!

Sort:  

I never thought about putting smaller bags into my travel bags. This is a neat idea, since you wont have to turn over the whole suitcase to get to that pair of socks.

Rock on

PS: There is no thumbnail being displayed -- i have run into the same problem, when posting images, that are a little too small or unfit (i.e. square) for the thumbnail

that's true, i guess if you would get some sort of color code for all your bags you can bring this to a whole new level! interesting with the thumbnails.... while i can see all of the pictures, can't you see any of them?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60140.74
ETH 2559.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54