You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LordNigel's Travels - Animals of South Africa

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hi Kate, I agree with what you have written as well :).. In terms of planes and tourism, you are spot on, I do struggle and can see what is happening to our world with frustration at times.

Alannapendragon knows me well and is also correct, there is hope!! and I normally try to deliver this message in the form of positive small steps we can all do

True, if I could I'd travel using wind and boat everywhere I would. Instead like most of us I have to try and make the best of where we are now, in the consumerism world we live in. I do try to reduce my impact, by flying once every couple of years, and staying as long as possible. I also walk mostly, volunteer my time to care for native animals, car pool, avoid eating meat and do as much as I can (and share this way of living), with all those I interact with. I am glad people with your concern and passion are out there.

...You might notice my posts are fairly easy to read (I'm targeting family/younger people . I have a few younger followers some people I know whom aren't on Steemit themselves), so I'm not really targeting these posts for rigorous debate (even though it may seem I'm selling a message people should travel around and this is negative on the environment - the first step to change is awareness). I hope this is making sense? I will try to comment on some of your posts for some healthy debate and/or your most welcome to PM me at https://steemit.chat Cheers

Sort:  

Sorry for hijacking your family-friendly post! :-*>
I don't set out to be contentious, it just sort of happens naturally sometimes! (I love to debate about environmental issues)

As a bit of a tangent picking up on what you were saying about travel by wind and boat, I actually have a bit of a dream of learning how to sail and traversing the Atlantic in a yacht as crew, as I would like to make a habit of visiting Brazil every couple of years and I'm not comfortable with the air miles. It's a very doable dream I think!

Feel free to comment and debate on any of my posts! Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43