Explore the Beaches and Lagoons of El Cotillo With Me! 🏖️☀️

in #travel6 years ago

Hey guys, it occurred to me today that I have been so occupied cooking (and eating) vegan treats that I had totally forgotten to finish my series of travel posts from my trip to Fuerteventura!


So today, with apologies, I will continue my voyages in the Canary Islands and take you on a road trip to a stunning part of Fuerteventura, El Cotillo!

15.jpeg


Writing this post and looking back over the photos of this trip will serve as therapy for me right now as I try to see past the never-ending rain we are experiencing in London and yearn for Spring.


I mean seriously, does it ever stop raining here? 😂

grim.jpeg

I love Corralejo, and could easily spend a whole holiday enjoying this town alone. On my last trip however I felt I should explore a bit more of what this beautiful island has to offer, so decided to travel to El Cotillo, only 20km from Corralejo and a mere bus journey away.


It's so easy to travel around using Corralejo as a base. There is a bus stop at the top of the main shopping street- the bus stop from my previous post where I met these cheeky critters! 🐿️

1.jpeg


From here you can easily and affordably travel to numerous nearby towns including Puerto del Rosario, from which you can take another bus to the airport for just a few Euros. Once on the bus, you can purchase a 'Bono' card, similar to London's Oyster card, which you can top up with money and use to travel cheaply all over Fuerteventura.

2.jpeg


I like travelling by bus or train when I am in a new country as you really get a feel for what it is like to be a local and see what every day life is like. It also allows you to see the landscape in a totally different way, and really soak it all in.

3.jpeg


And what a landscape it is! Fuerteventura is such a desert-like place, covered with dormant volcanoes and sparse plant life which gives it an other worldly feel, like you have suddenly been transported to Mars.

4.jpeg

It is such a striking landscape, and so alien to a London girl like me!

5.jpeg


The journey takes less than an hour, but the time flies by as you gaze at the incredible landscape passing you by.


Before you know it, you will arrive in El Cotillo, a former fishing town which like most of the island is frequented by surfers and therefore has a laid back and unpretentious vibe.


To be honest, I didn't get a chance to explore the town itself as I was far more interested in exploring the stunning coastline, which is a shame as I found out late in the day that there is a great vegan restaurant there. Oh well. next time..


And what a coast line it is! The aqua blue and turquoise water coupled with the marbled gold and black sand are are just breath taking.

14.jpeg


On the day I went it was very calm, and I actually didn't see any surfers. It was a perfect day for walking the shore and swimming in the crystal clear water.

13.jpeg

8.jpeg


As beautiful as the beaches are, this is the only the start when it comes to photo worthy views. Wander a little further along the coast and you'll find a number of lagoons which are just stunning.

7.jpeg

They apparently make for a great location for snorkeling, though the tide was a little low when I was there and I didn't see any fish on that particular day.

9.jpeg

20.jpeg

They are also a perfect spot for children to play, as the water is beautifully clean and shallow.

18.jpeg

11.jpeg


Keep walking along the coast and the view is almost dream like: the rolling hills on the horizon, the sparkling ocean and the majestic buildings.

16.jpeg


Every inch of this island demands a photograph, it's landscape is so exotic and yet somehow so familiar at the same time.


This part of Fuerteventura is beautifully tranquil, and is the perfect place to unwind and idly stroll, letting your stress just float away.

12.jpeg


I can't wait to return to El Cotillo and bask in the blissful calm of the place again.

22.jpeg


I hope you liked this post, if you did please upvote, comment, resteem and follow me on @lolzwithlisa for more vegan recipes and travel posts!

Sort:  

Have to agree with you, the coastline is stunning

Isn't it? Such a beautiful island and hot weather all year round! 😎

Do you want me to resteem your blog post to over 32,800 followers and many viewers to get more upvotes? For more info. go here: https://steemit.com/@a-0-0

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=lolzwithlisa
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=explore-the-beaches-and-lagoons-of-el-cotillo-with-me


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Lolzwithlisa from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

The water looks very clear and crystal clear. I love the photos where you see the blue water. That shade of blue is very beautiful. I imagine that water must be cold.

I know, the colour of the water is stunning! It actually wasn't too cold 😀

This island looks absolutely stunning!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44