Curiosities in Corralejo!🐠 🐢

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

So if you have followed my blog for a little while you will no doubt be familiar with my fondness for Fuerteventura.

16.jpeg


Corralejo specifically, on the North of the island has stolen my heart and I have made several posts about the beauty of the landscape, the beaches, the weather and the food!


When you find a holiday destination that you love though, sometimes it's the little things you find while exploring that endear you to the place that little bit more.


Down by the harbour is a large warehouse-like building which could have been a bit of an eye sore along the pretty coast line, but they've avoided that by painting an expansive ocean themed mural on it which is quite incredible to see!

22.jpeg


It's amazing sea life theme fits the surf town perfectly and makes a vibrant backdrop for tourists sitting and enjoying the views in the sunshine.

3444.jpeg


Similarly fitting to the atmosphere of the town is the imposing Mamandyou statue on the other side of the town.


'Mamandyou' Represents Mother Earth and her link between nature and humans.'*

1.jpg

The colours on the statue represent the diverse natural elements that make up this beautiful island. The island really feels as if it has an affinity with nature and the elements, as they are so forceful here.


Corralejo is first and foremost a surfing town, and you will see nods to that wherever you go... from the obvious 😂 -

2.jpg

To the more subtle-

23.jpeg


As a bit of a hippy, nature loving town, Corralejo also embraces veganism (as you may remember from my previous posts). On one stroll I discovered this great little 100% vegan cafe!

17.jpeg

14.jpeg


I was amazed that not only are there so many vegan friendly foods around on this island, solely vegan eateries too? Incredible!

4.jpeg


I really loved the quirky decoration of the cafe, with their vegan, ethical message.

10.jpeg
9.jpeg


The cafe serves a range of sandwiches, cakes, hot and cold drinks and smoothies.

8.jpeg

13.jpeg


It was a hot day so I opted for a mango smoothie which was good but cost far more than I would ordinarily pay. But hey, I was on holiday and I digged the ethos of the place so didn't mind forking out a little extra.

5.jpeg

(I wish they would use a little less plastic though!)


Above all, I was really happy to see an independent vegan restaurant really thriving in such a small town, spreading the message of cruelty free, accountable living!

11.jpeg

7.jpeg


Corralejo is a town with a lot of creativity, even in shops where you expect to see the same old usual tourist knick-knacks, you can find really lovely hand made and unique souvenirs.


Like these fridge magnets, hand painted with scenic views of the stunning Corralejo coastline. What a special momento of your time on the island!

20.jpeg

21.jpeg

And these cute little wooden surf boards which you can have hand engraved with a personal message of your choice.

19.jpeg

Maybe it's just me, but I've been to a lot of beach destinations and never seen any tourist souvenirs like this before!


All these little things just add to my affection for Corralejo.

...And then, there are things like this!

I wonder what Gordon 'Ransey' would say? 🤣

4.jpg


I hope you liked this post, if you did please upvote, comment, resteem and follow me on @lolzwithlisa for more travel and vegan food posts!


Sort:  

Love your post. Very well written with many details and amazing photos. I felt being there in Corralejo. Thank you for sharing it.

Thanks so much! You should visit if you ever get the chance, such a great place 😁

The photos are great.
They are very artistic.
And the mural with the turtle is beautiful.

Thank you, that's so kind 😊 I know, isn't it- love it!

Yeah, I'm a skinflint, and would never manage to find the money for a meal there, and may even go thirsty..., but I hope there are people who do, cos it looks like a really neat little cafe.

Heh yeah the food was a little steep for me, but the restaurant was full of diners so they are doing good business!

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale & @upmyvote team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-05-03-18

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

Thanks so much!! I appreciate it 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67104.23
ETH 3509.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.21