You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HOW TO TRAVEL AROUND THE WORLD WITHOUT PAYING FOR ACCOMMODATION

in #travel6 years ago

Thanks for this @lymepoet, never heard of couchsurfing but sounds like an interesting way to get around the world especially if you're still young, us oldies are a tad more conservative so would feel a bit uncomfortable ;)
We started with airbnb but in a separate space from our main house, now run it as a proper bnb, have met some amazing people from all over the world!
Will check this site out.

Sort:  

I always dreamt of opening my own bnb! Not there yet, one day I will. How wonderful that you are doing that! I was always fascinated about travelling and meeting people from around the world, seeing the world through their eyes, listen to their stories, discover new places I have never heard of.
I have met some ladies in their 60s who were couchsurfing, while I was in Thailand. I admit I was surprised as well. Age is only a number ;-)

That last statement is so true! We just love hosting & like you say see the world through their eyes, often opening up our eyes to how fortunate we are here in South Africa despite the problems we're facing! Hosting is highly recommended if you enjoy people, the best job ever :):)

Travelling and listening to others' stories is a great way to get some perspective, be thankful and humble for the things we have and tend to take for granted.

Very true!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57400.65
ETH 3108.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42