Cenotes - Mayan sacred waterhole

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

The word "Cenote" comes from the low-land Yucatec Maya — ts'onot — to refer to any location with accessible groundwater.

Cenotes are very deep freshwater sinkholes located here at the Riviera Maya, mostly in the jungle. Before the Spanish entered Mexico ancient Maya would use them for sacrificial offerings since for them Cenotes where the entrances of the underworld.

There are 3 different kinds of Cenotes. Closed ones, half open and open onces. All are totally different and worth it to visit.

Nowadays they are touristy spots to swim or dive. It´s pretty awesome to cool down in the fresh cold water and Snorkel.

There are small fish to give you a pedicure nibbling on your feed if you sit down and put your feet into the water - just like in 5th avenue here in Playa del Carmen but already included ;)

Almost every cenote has a spot where you can jump or swing into the water from 5 meters altitude. You just bring your food and drinks and enjoy an awesome day with fresh cool water.

Almost all of the cenotes are connected under the ground which makes it pretty interesting to dive from one to another and explore the tunnel system.

From Playa del Carmen the easiest way to get to some of them is taking the Colectivo Van at 2nd street between 15th and 20th avenue. There are a lot of them on your way to Tulum just before Xpu-ha beach.
This particular one is called Cenote Jardin de Eden = Garden of Eden. But there are also a lot around Coba, Tulum and Chichen Itza because the Mayan people would use them to get fresh drinking water.

So If you take a tour to Coba, Tulum or Chichen Itza or come to our beautiful Riviera Maya make sure you also stop by some Cenotes on your way.
The average cost is about 100 MXN for the entrance and 40 MXN for the Colectivo one way.

You shouldn´t bring beer cans or smokes though to keep clean the area... often its even forbidden to bring them in.

Sort:  

I love swimming in the cenotes. Beautiful pics. Upvoted and resteemed.

Thanks man. I really appreciate your support!

I was going to post something about cenotes now that I'm in Playa anyways so when I saw your post I just resteemed it. Beautiful pics. Love the colors of the water.

Well I´ve got more pictures if you need some to write something let me know :)

Excellent post!! thank you for sharing
Excellent post! I like your work My friend
(~.~)

Thanks! Then you should follow me, there is a lot more coming soon :)

Great little piece! Are you still in Mexico? If so I'd like to chat with you. I'm about to travel that way and could use some advice. I'd like to visit the Garden of Eden cenote since that title seems to be a theme for me. I've been living at the Garden of Eden @gardenofeden for the last 3 years.

Hey there. Sure, write me and I give you some advice. In Steemchat my name is also lizanomadsoul :)

That looks awesome, I've heard about these Mexican cenotes before and would love to experience them someday.

You should, there are about 200 in Yucatan I guess. If you come some day I will help you to find the best ones ;) - I know about 40 already.

Wow, that's a lot of them! I appreciate the offer @lizanomadsoul, that's really nice of you :)

That's an amazing looking place! I've heard of some of the more famous "blue holes" but didn't know there was a whole network of them.

Well I think the most famous blue hole is located in Caye Caulker, Belize. Maybe I´ll do a blog about this island too since I went there last year and it´s pretty close from here. But I think the Idea of cenotes are pretty close to that big blue hole.

Picking up Steem nicely Liza :) IMPRESSED :))

I also saw your #deutsch posts too ... cruise control baby!! :]

Beautiful photos. Thanks for sharing! I really want to explore that whole area more. I think I will put that on the list for next year.

You should :) If you need some advice let me know! - or just follow me, I will put more information about the Riviera Maya the next days and weeks :)

I look forward to reading it!

Gorgeous colours in those underwater images!

Yes right? Its perfect to take underwater pics.

Then follow me :) I will put a lot more the next days and weeks that I have left here. I really love Mexico, it will be taff to leave.

Have you been to the jungle yet. It's in Chiapas.

Hey there, sure I have. I travelled a lot since I was here. The jungle actually goes until here Quintana Roo. But I also have been to Palenque, San Cristobal and all the surroundings, Chiapas is one of the most beautiful states in Mexico. I love all the forests, jungle, highlands and lakes over there.

Ikr! Are you planning to go to Guatemala? I hear thats awesome. Pic slook lovely.

No I don´t but my friend @anomadsoul is going soon. He just entered steemit and will also write about his journey, later we meet up in Panama. You should follow him if you want to see more about central america.

Sounds good to me! Keep me posted :)

Nice post @lizanomadsoul. Resteemed.
But please only use tag deutsch if you write in deutsch. :-)
Better fifth tag would be mexico or cenotes.

Sure, How can I write on the left in English and on the right German? I would like to do both in the same post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97