Tripping On Topes To Oaxaca, Part 2: Adventuresome Rebel and Relaxation

in #travel7 years ago

As you can tell by his face mid-trip, Rebel was having a great time.  The property was totally fenced in so he was free to roam around.  The second day we were there I hardly saw him all day, except for here and there from a distance. He got some much needed dog adventuring this trip. 

He spent a good amount of time inspecting his dog friend Tommy's private parts, in search for his testicles.  Rebel is still intact where this dog was fixed, a concept Rebel doesn't get.  He didn't know whether to try courting him or just to play.  It was really intersting to witness, as the neutered dog seemed confused himself.

We made our way to the beach again, to find much larger waves.  I wouldn't necessarily consider the beaches of Puerto Escondido to be safe for even strong swimmers.  It's known for it's surf, but it's also known as a place for professional surfers, not new ones. 

This is because the way the waves work.  The water pulls out really far and rushes a good ways, making it an incredibly long beach.  Being in the wrong depth during a pullback could get you sucked and spat out into the ocean, which would be a big deal.  I wasn't really interested in getting more than my feet wet.

There were beautiful sunsets, although they were very different than my Acapulco sunset. While there was a much slower vibe to Puerto Escondido, there was a tenseness there that I don't experience in Acapulco.  I can't describe it specficially, but from my understanding things there are heating up in many regards making for a very tense situation. Despite this, nothing happened. Nothing got stolen, no one got hurt or attacked and I cannot say I had a bad experience.  But things did seem tense. 

We had heard the streets of Puerto Escondido were lined with neem trees and I'm pretty sure we found an example! Extremely useful and hardy tree mentioned in one of my recent posts.

The property was essentially a little compound.  We were staying in the one two story building on the property and the upstairs was pretty cool for the dogs as it gave them this cool place to look down from. 

Dabs and food were a plenty, as they acquired lots of really good meat from the local butcher.  I made breakfast, and later burgers Acapulco style with pineapple and bacon.

It was hard to get Rebel to sit still for even a few photos, as he spent his time wandering around obsessed with his new freedom. 

I've mentioned my love for cheese and hash from this great state and this trip I got to enjoy some of the hash.  I decided to take lots of glamour photos so you can see what good Oaxaca hash looks like in the morning Oaxaca sun.

Pressed it into this little puck to give an idea of texture.  It's firm and like play dough with an oil sheen from the oil concentrated from the sativa buds in the hash.  By default sativa resin is much more oily than indica so it makes a hash with this nice sheen to it.

Breaking it apart, one can see it's simply water hash, complete with plant material.

It's got a light and lovely smell that's very enjoyable.  I packed a bowl with it and smoked it all day, sharing with friends. I actually smoked a lot less dabs as a result. While I prefer dabs, having good hash around is nice.  I certainly enjoy that much more than I do flower at this point of my life. 

So as you can see, even though it was a short trip lots of fun was had.  Things weren't perfect but they never are.  We didn't do much but that was somewhat the point. There will be more pictures shared in the future of the trip, as well as the recipes for the food I made with the meat I brought back with me. Thanks for reading and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Yaaaaas! Beautiful little Hockey puck. ;-)

The hash looks delicious! :D

Your assessment is correct, it is delicious

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.77 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 29 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57383.94
ETH 2450.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40