Hawaii Big Island - THE BEST SNORKELING!!

in #travel6 years ago

Big Island has some incredible snorkeling spots! While I don't think the Big Island is as known for snorkeling as its neighbor Maui Hawaii, snorkel lovers like myself still can get their snorkel fix in the Big Island. I found a beach called "2 Step" beach after some research and it was the perfect spot for snorkeling. The water was crystal clear, the coral reef was healthy and full of life teeming with fish. The water was even fairly warm!

DSCF0640.JPG
This fish came right up to me to take a photo. He was quite friendly!

DSCF0545.JPG

Why do they call it 2 step?

There are 2 naturally formed steps which snorkelers and divers use to enter the water. This beach does not have any sand so to get in the water, you have to just jump into the water from the rock steps. For this reason, it is not suggested for beginner snorkelers.

Also, there are sea urchins in the rock steps so I had to be careful when getting in and out the water. I almost panicked when getting out the water because I was afraid of touching the sea urchins in the steps! One thing you don’t want as a souvenir from Hawaii is a sea urchin sting!

Despite that, I went back snorkeling three times to 2 step because it was just so beautiful! I found if I put my fins on the steps flat, I avoid the sea urchins.

The video presented below will show you the 2 steps and how to best enter the water for snorkeling. Watch before you go so you know exactly what to expect when you get there. The video will also give you a sneak peek at some of the beautiful things you will see underwater.

(

)

If you would like to check out the travel blog for the full post on my visit to 2 Step, you can check it out here http://www.littlebirdietravel.com.

Here are some additional photos from underwaterDSCF0649.JPG
Many coral canyons are found at 2 step.

DSCF0427.JPG
Trigger Fish

Sort:  

Nice, like to see more!

Thank you ksteem! I would love to share more and will work on more posts to share.

Wow....this is [email protected] camera did you use to get this?

Thank you! For underwater, I used the new Fuji underwater camera.... I forget which model but can find out for you. It works very well underwater.

I used the Fujifilm FinePix XP130

Did not you feel afraid of a curious little shark coming?
Very good post, and video!!
Greetings from Venezuela!

Greetings! the likelyhood of a shark coming is very rare so I don't worry too much about that. Thanks for checking out my post...

I have a very good friend from Venezuela. I hear things are quite crazy there at the moment and there are many challenges for those living there. I hope things get better.

Your friend has informed you very well! Here things go worse every day ... However we keep fighting, hope is the last thing that is lost !!

Great read! Thanks for sharing or with us :) I hope you get rewarded handsomely for this.

Thanks for reading, glad you liked it! A reward is always nice, but in the meantime, just enjoying posting and sharing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65647.77
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60