Indonesia ep.1 - Rainy season on the Gili IslandssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

I visited the Gili Islands in Indonesia about two years ago in December. Rainy season all the way! :) But I must say I enjoyed every bit of it. There was this certain sense of solitude in the humid air, for some reason I felt like I was on another planet. I've never seen the sky blend with the sea so beautifully, the wind just glued the sand on my wet skin and from time to time, when the sun got out of the clouds, the colors of the sea just transformed into the most beautiful light blue.

We sipped coconuts all day and strolled around the islands on our bikes, stopping whenever we saw something that caught our eyes. There were a lot of stops. At sunset we used to run through small alleys and tall coconut trees to arrive at the beach and just bathe in the colors of dusk. It was magical, we just sat with our feet in the sand and in that moment there was nothing in the world that could harm us, affect us or distract us. It was perfection in its purest form!

These are the feelings I'm searching for when I travel. Actually, this is why I travel ;)

IMG_2845_2.jpg

IMG_2662_2.jpg

IMG_2709_2.jpg

IMG_2660_2.jpg

IMG_2680_2.jpg

IMG_2870_2.jpg

IMG_2726_2.jpg

IMG_2745_2.jpg

IMG_2735_2.jpg

Sort:  

This post has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 4.07 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @alexvan. Vote for Aggroed!

Very nice pictures. How long did you stay there? To welcome you on the platform I will send some small bots to upvote the post ;)

Waw, thank you @alexvan! :) Still new to this platform and trying to get the hang of it.
Regarding the visit to the Gilis, I stayed there for about a week but I would have stayed a lot more. I will surely go back in the future but this time during summer, the dry season. It was very beautiful with the rain and all, but sometimes I could barely breathe because of the humidity :)

Humidity is a pain, I know it from other parts of the world. I have never been to Indonesia, but it is on the bucket list ;)

Wow, the sunset pictures are breathtaking. I wish I was there :D

I wish I was there again too :P


This post got a 2.45 % upvote thanks to @alexvan - Hail Eris !

i know all of your posts are wonderful, and i read them @ronaldmcatee

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49