Wild Spirit - A Never Ending JorneysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

 This is 2017 and don't know how, I'm 23 already. I grew up in Nazaré, a small but well famous fishing town on the West Coast of Portugal. 

 Since I was a child I always had that feeling for adventure and exploration... wherever I went.  Discovering things by my own is something that I've been into since those times.

  I grew up in my grandparents farm. My grandad was a park ranger and I often went on hikes with him. My dad's a fisherman and grew up in that mix between fishing boats and forest parks. So you can see where I catch this love for outdoor. Like father like son I guess. 

 My goal has an emergent photographer/filmmaker and adventure storyteller is to capture the world around me. So I've decided to take adventurous journeys that most people wouldn't even think of, like taking a 3 weeks hitchhiking trip, doing a 1000KM bike mission or maybe fight a tiger with my eyes folded (you never know).  


(Starting a fire during night time is always a difficult task but with 3ºC temperatures it was a must)


There's about 7.5 billion people on this earth, 196 countries and an astonishing 510 million km² of Planet Earth. What do I want to prove with this? 

 I think that we, during our entire life's, can't meet terrific experiences and explore everything... but we actually can do some parts. You can start doing little things that excites your inner self and really feel alive. I'm talking about the real experience. I want to travel the  world, I want to meet amazing new people, I want to fall in love by what's next and around me!

(Relaxing in hotels and spas is something overrated, sometimes all you need is a nice group of people, a hammock and some rope)


Lets squeeze things up for a little bit and imagine the world has a big city, or the place you live (doesn't matter where). Think that city is ''our'' planet, the country you live is your home. You want to check yours neighbors home but with that you lose the opportunity to see what is really happening inside your own walls. So you think: "why shouldn't I stay home for while"? I kept asking that question to myself lots of times and some years ago I decided to start exploring and traveling  around my country. Something happened that turn my switch ON, and what was that?

( Arrábida Mountains Natural Park, I'll drop an article particularly about this trip very soon)


There's some parts in your own life where you have to make choices. Almost 3 years ago I was lying in a hospital bed fighting for my life after a tumor made me collapse while I was working 12 hours shifts in a crappy restaurant. Obviously I got better but mentally I was in deep  depression while I was there, for a person that can't stay still I spent 15 days, 11 of those without eating, just laying down on a bed and man... you think! A LOOOOT! All my dreams, all the mistakes I ever done, all  the small details in your life, all my friends and loved ones, all my ambitions and all the places and cultures I wanted to see. I wanted all  of those but for that I had to make a decision, to get up, buy a Portuguese road-map, and pack my bag. After some months of recovering that happened, and since then I've lived amazing experiences and met 'tons' of awesome people. 


(After a failed attempt to catch any ride I went on a 45km long walk towards Gerês National Park, photos taken a few minutes after my arrival)



(After camping by the lake decided to hike around the mountains, if there's anything close to paradise in Portugal, I found it!)


Since then, I really want to document my travels and adventures. And let me tell you something... Some time ago was checking through old footage and tears of joy started to appear in my eyes. Right away I start to put together a small clip full of images showing some places I've been... and with that Wild Spirit was born. 

(Klaus as to be one of the coolest guys and one of the nicest persons I've ever met! I had the pleasure to host him for a few days)


(Berlengas Islands are classified as an UNESCO Natural Reserve, I'll drop an article particularly about this trip very soon)


Wild Spirit is a 2 minutes short-clip showing the very best of the last 3/4 years of adventures, people, moments and about 3000KM worth of  travels, all of that inside my country borders.


<iframe src="

" width="640" height="360" frameborder="0" webkitallowfullscreen mozallowfullscreen allowfullscreen></iframe>

Hope you enjoy it and can see what I've trying to achieve with the message scripted in the video. Some of my last travels will be posted here so make sure to follow me for more content.

Cheers, Leo


(I guess my group of friends likes to stand on the edge of cliffs)


If you enjoyed this post please feel free to check  and follow my Instagram page, where I often post and blog about my travels and  adventures! https://www.instagram.com/leodomingox/


Sort:  

Really enjoyed the video. You're a very good videographer!

Have you ever been to the Azores? I had a short layover there last year and ever since it's been added to my list.

Also, loved that video you made of/for Andrey Karr!

Keep it up :)

Thanks a lot! Never been there but its on my list since ever haha Truly beautiful place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65