How I paid my holidays using Steem 💲 in a Bitcoin paradise! Ometepe: between animals, bio toilets and adventure!

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Hola people!

I did not have opportunity to write a new article as the internet connection in Nicaragua is just a nightmare. So I decided to simply enjoy my time here. 

My adventure paid in Bitcoins

My search of adventure brought me to Ometepe, a small island in the middle of the lake Nicaragua.  Even if I was not sure of what it meant, I decided to stay in a eco-hostel. This is how I found the Finca Zopilote.  

Once arrived I happily discovered that I could pay in Bitcoin! I did not miss this opportunity! I converted my Steem $ and voilà! The stay has been paid with my Steemit earnings!

What can I say? I loved this experience! The farm is plenty of animals: from monkeys to horses or snakes, just to mention a few! 🐒 🐎  🐍

I was enjoying the view of the lake when few horses came to drink. I felt a bit bad as the water is not that clean...

This bird used to come to the common area every day. I think it was just trying to get some free food!

Life in the finca is very simple. 

Guests share the bio toilets. This toilets are very simple. From an user point of view, one finishes the own business and put two bowls of rice on the top of it. Then one closes the toilet Y ya está! done! From the business side, the guests are producing compost to be used for the need of the farm. I do not want to know what for...

As user, I can say that it was neither comfortable or uncomfortable. With this temperature it does not certainly smells like flowers...

Every cabaña is different from the others and one may end up in a coloured building like this one.

The island offers amazing scenarios. You do not have to do much, just walk, sometimes seat and enjoy...


And that's it! this is how I invested my first money gained with Steemit!

PS. I cannot change the orientation of two images in this post. I tried with hmtl but it does not work :/

Sort:  

This is epic! think i need to take a trip out there

oh, you should! it is amazing! also, and this is a goooood value, the owners are italians and they cook good italian food!

Beautiful views! Though i think i am too much of a westerner to be able to handle an "eco-hotel." I need my creature comforts! Also, i am amazed at how pervasive bitcoin has become: No flushable toilets...but we take bitcoin!

heheheh lol! I guess bitcoins are related to a hippy kind of community. That way, it makes more sense :)

Beautiful views! And that's so cool you were able to pay with Steem. Thanks for sharing!

Glad you liked it!

Beautiful place!. What a surprise that they accept bitcoins!

Yep, so difficult to find

The pictures are wonderful. Looks like it was a great adventure.

It was! Good place to relax

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67876.87
ETH 3852.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65