#TOTI This One Time in Kiev - Eating Raw Pig Fat Part 2 of 3

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I can't shake the feeling that I'm in a Soviet era movie. Listening to reminders us of the glorious leader while I chill on the ice sofa.


(I put the above video together to show you the locations where this story takes place.)

City - Kyiv, Ukraine

Part 2 / 3

read part 1 of the story
read part 3 of the story


I see my friend at the gates, we greet and start walking onto the exhibition grounds.

Me:

"So...what is salo?"

Friend:

"It's raw pig fat that we eat."

Me:

"..."

Forget WalMart Greeters, this is where it's at. Traditional Ukrainian music welcomes everyone.

I grab some food immediately.

Ukrainian Food.png

Laugh at the snowman acting goofy with the children.

The loudspeaker overhead is announcing something. It sounds like Soviet propaganda. I can't shake the feeling that I'm in a Soviet era movie. Listening to reminders us of the glorious leader. But in reality she's probably saying when the next act is coming on stage.

There are more than snowman walking around, there are pigs now also. Makes sense this is the pig fat salo festival after all.

They were playing skip rope with an invisible person, so I kicked out the invisible man and jumped in.

Expo Centre of Ukraine (6).jpg

Expo Centre of Ukraine (7).png

Went to the ice bar. It was already freezing outside already, but whatever.

Kiev Ice Bar (2).png

Kiev Ice Bar (3).png

Kiev Ice Bar (1).png

Kiev Ice Bar (4).png

There was a small petting zoo.

Expo Centre of Ukraine (21).png

Expo Centre of Ukraine (22).png

Now that we’ve touched some animals, it’s time for some food. Try to walk by these cooking and not take one. I'm almost certain everything here is 100% natural.

Ukrainian Food (2).png

Ukrainian Food (3).png

Me:

"Where is the salo?"

She:

"Over there!"

Ukrainian Food (4).png

Ukrainian Food (5).png

We buy some.

Also some Georgian food. In fact, a LOT of Georgian food. I soon learn that much of Ukrainian delicacy comes from Georgia, as Georgia is famous for their tasty food.

Ukrainian Food (6).png

Ukrainian Food (5).png

I see a table for us to sit and eat and watch some entertainment out for the kids.

In about two minutes I’m going to try salo for the first time.
(to be continued)...


read part 1 of the story
read part 3 of the story


!steemitworldmap 50.379237 lat 30.478145 long #TOTI This One Time in Kiev - Eating Raw Pig Fat Part 2 of 3 d3scr

!steemitworldmap 50.379237 lat 30.478145 long #TOTI This One Time in Kiev - Eating Raw Pig Fat Part 2 of 3 d3scr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55117.74
ETH 2310.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31