You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Budapest, Hungary

in #travel7 years ago

Good post. Glad you liked Budapest and area.

A note on the multi-ethnic comment because I have to. If every country was multi-ethnic, there would be no point in visiting Hungary and what makes it unique. Just because the West suddenly developed a new philosophy of multi-culturalism, does not mean that the world must suddenly adopt this 'idea'. Hungary is unique because, as you pointed out, for 1000 years they have been Hungarian, with their own distinct culture, very distinct language (completely distinct from all neighbouring European languages) food, customs, etc. I've lived there on and off for over two years and I've been all over the country, all over and it is fantastic. Being from a multi-cultural country myself, I am overjoyed that Hungary has stayed Hungarian. I'm happy they let me in to live, but I am more than happy as a foreigner to recognize that I am the foreigner and I must adapt to them.
Hungary for Hungarians!

On to Etyek...awesome awesome place. Did you go to any of the home-restaurants nearby? In the neighbouring villages you can drive down the street and people will put up a sign in front of their house and you can just sit down at a picnic table and nagymama (grandma) will bring out food.
Szuper!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68688.65
ETH 3764.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51