You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Culture Shocked

in #travel8 years ago

Very cool. I can't wait to be able to internationally travel myself. I have been around the US a lot but never outside of it and I really, really want to experience culture shock. :)

Sort:  

Mind if I ask what's stopping you? I know it can be scary to think about going somewhere far where you aren't fluent in their language, but you'd be surprised how many people speak English. I end up feeling guilty that I'm in someone else's country and yet we are communicating in my language. If they don't speak English you're going to get VERY good at charades :)

What I love most about traveling internationally is that my mind is constantly "on" I always am thinking either how to say things in their language, how I'm getting from point A to point B, where is the local market so I can buy my own food (to save money)... It's a very stimulating and exciting place to be :) Please let me know if you're having any ideas for travel or questions, I'd love to help as much as I can! I hope you get out there one day :)

Right now I am fighting a debilitating physical illness that makes it feel like I have a UTI 24/7 and makes me pee sometimes 40 times a day. So, my life is on hold while I search for the right combination of meds to relieve that some. I am writing my book for two years and saving up money. I do plan to travel internationally in 2 years. I actually may be moving to Belgium. I am learning French atm. :)

Thanks so much for the insight. I actually really love learning new languages and seriously want to know 3 or 4. And traveling would obviously be great for that. I also am very bored with American "culture" and absolutely want to be shocked.

Bonsoir @lauralemons ! Como ta le vu? Tres Bien j'espere.

I'm really sorry to hear your going through this right now. I'll be praying for you to have strength through it and for a cure to come quickly!

What's your book about? Saving money is always a good idea, and with an investment in Steem now hopefully it'll be easier than ever. Belgium is a cool choice! I had to learn some French for my last trip to Tahiti, it's such a beautiful language. The family I was staying with would teach me some French and I'd teach them English... The English words always sound so blunt compared to French.
Looks like you've got two years to check out places online that tickle your fancy. What sorts of places catch your interest? Old architecture, natural landscape, ocean, mountains?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61