You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 19th Century Shipwreck Story | Prince of Wales | Tension Between Brazil and UK

in #travel6 years ago

...Amazingly written, just like others have commented. Deserves more upvotes! From a content creator's perspective I can see that this must really have taken hours of research and writing.

Indeed an interesting story. In our European countries, people proudly look back of centuries of history but then again our regions lack the glorious stories of pirates, adventurers and explorers! It must be awesome to live in a place where history can be so closely observed.

Sort:  

Thanks a bunch for the compliments @lakesnmountains, you know it means a lot!

It must be awesome to live in a place where history can be so closely observed.
But, but, but dude, Brazil has only 518 years of history, Europe has how many? I remember when I visited Europe in 2013, every single corner was a little bit of history.

Btw I want to do a more in depth research into the Prince of Wales case, there are no info in english and wreck reports, that really intrigues me. I'll start by checking the local public libraty for news paper from that time.

That's quite right. But also many old historic places have been built over by newer stuff in the course of many centuries. Plus, of course, much has been destroyed in the war, and rebuilt. Some parts of Germany are basically a replica of themselves. Luckily there was no war in Switzerland, so our old stuff is still "original" 😉

I'm very much interested in hearing what your research will bring forth. You mean... libraries? That place where they store actual... books? That's a kind of research completely unheard-of on the internet. 🙂

hahahahahah exactly, people sometimes forget how much can be found on libraries. Is this another thing doomed to disapear in the future? I don't know.

I remember visiting the library one day and being horrified to see old news papers where they had actual ads selling slaves! Insane!
I hope I can find material from circa 1860, there must be something.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97