I jumped at the 40ft Cliff in Sabang, Samal Island!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I crossed out one of my bucket list when I finally jumped off a 40 feet high cliff at Sabang, Sitio Kaputian, Island Garden City of Samal. Yeah!!

DSC_8117.jpg

I did not just crossed out one item on my bucket list, I overcome my greatest fear; the fear of heights. You know, it only takes a leap to counter your fear but it takes a lot (and I really mean a lot) of guts to actually take that first leap. So how did it happened?

One of our neighbors decided to invite us to a secluded place where he called "grotto" assuring that "we will surely have fun there jumping off a cliff". So we took a short ride to Kaputian, Samal from Davao City.

DSC_8161.jpg

Sabang has three jumping cliffs. First was at 14 feet high, second is about 20 feet and the highest was the 40 feet cliff. We arrived early at the place so we have it all by ourselves. After all of our things were settled, I immediately tried the lowest and the middle one. The 14 feet was a no-brainer while the 2nd one by far gave me a little tingle. I tried to go on to the 3rd one but decided to shrug off the idea of jumping in since none of my friends would want to give it a try.

As the hour passes by, more and more people flock in and joined us in the area. We were already in the influence of alcohol then when two kids did not hesitated to jump off the highest cliff. I was honestly challenged by these kid's bravery and thought to myself "I can do it too". I did not let the chance pass so I headed to the trail leading to the edge of the cliff together with two of my friends. I made a quick glimpse of the deep blue sea from the edge. To be honest, my brain and ego are fighting over whether I take the chance and jump off or just make an excuse and back out. It's the most difficult part of conquering your fears. I really don't know what exactly happened but the moment I heard one of my friend below shouted that the camera is ready, I immediately took the biggest leap and all I could just remember was I jumped and was slowly swallowed by the sea.

10518635_850087098359289_5662156628308764552_n.jpg

Me jumping off the 2nd level cliff of Sabang

I felt a euphoric sense of relief as the water slowly pushes me up to the surface knowing that I made it. It was such a great leap!

Here's a video I made which was uploaded last 6th of September, 2014.

How to get here:

  • You can read my original blog post about Sabang Cliff Jump dated way back september 2014 at this LINK. All information can be read there.

How about you? Have you tried jumping off a cliff? how was your experience? let me know in the comment box below. :)

P.S
All images used in this blog post are mine unless otherwise stated.

@surpassinggoogle is such a generous person and has a very big heart for all of us here. Please support him as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.

If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

nyak2.jpg

Sort:  

That must have been quite a feeling.

it's very satisfying. I conquered my fear of height after that 1st try. I love jumping a cliff now. :)

That would get you over any fears of heights.

done upvoted lakawero

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lakawero to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

that is awesome.

Scary but be safe

how was the experience? i always wanted to try that out. that was very brave of you! bravo!

it's so fulfilling ma'am. sa una lang pala talaga ang pinakamahirap. after 1st try hahanap-hanapin mo na haha

Conquer your fear... or... live with it!

I did. I did ^__^

You did great! I want to jump too

face your fears po. hehe

taas nyan pre!

uu. tagal umabot sa dagat hahaha

Holaaaa.. ibog kay ko hahaha

haha. Try na yan :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59433.20
ETH 2442.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44