Back From Travel and Reintegrating - The Returned Journey (2)

in #travel7 years ago

Hi there!

My name is Mark, I live in the UK and returned from travel a few weeks ago. I had an incredible trip, and met some amazing people. I've started posting about my experiences of coming back and, for want of a better expression, reintegrating into a more regular rhythm of life. It turns out, when you come back from travel, there are so many things you need to do!

Reconnecting with friends and family... Getting a job.... finding somewhere to live.... dealing with the financial practicalities associated with these things....

And the further each of these goes, the more little niggles that come along. Like when I get my first job, I'll most likely take my nose piercing out - it's not ideal, it's just a thing, and appearances / first impressions are important in that world.

The whole process has been great so far!

Being back for a few weeks, I've already dabbled in many of the things listed above and I've been having a really good time - I truly feel like the momentum of the enjoyment I surrounded myself with whilst away has continued into coming home. When I first got back, I stayed with an especially great friend for almost a week, just eating his food and drinking all of his coffee enjoying his company and settling in. From there, I shot a practice Steemit video which ended up being the one I posted, had a rather interesting Tinder date (why not?), met some of his friends and colleagues and met up with a group of my old friends from work. None of them were allowed to post about it, and my location services were turned off on my phone, as I still hadn't told my mother I was back yet!

And wow! That reunion... I wish everyone was so happy to see me. I don't think I've ever heard my mother swear so much in my entire life. I think this is the big one for most people coming back, seeing your Mum and Dad, and I definitely felt really special. Because that's what it's all about really, isn't it? Connection. It doesn't matter how many amazing people you meet when you're out there, and this is by far my most favourite part of it, there will still be existing bonds you've made that have shaped who you are. This is one of those bonds for me, I love her, I missed her terribly and it was SO good to see her.

What about these niggles then?

Silly things like having to take a nose peircing out to get a job are inconsequential - it's why I refer to it as a niggle. How you appear is still important, and if small adjustments have to be made then so be it. It might be a little risky for me to be making these posts and sharing them on Linkedin, in full view of potential employers, but I don't mind. This was a big issue for me before, having such a corporate and wooden demeanour when I started on my grad programme, and in some ways not being myself, prevented me from truly excelling and enjoying my role; sometimes I was just delivering and keeping up appearances. So there's a balance there with this niggle. The importance for me of finding a job I can really love outweighs many potential sacrifices, and to flip it over, part of that loving that job is not being expected to give up too much as well. This would definitely not be too much!

Oh, and I got that haircut! The scrubbing up has already begun!

The other niggle so far has been accepting help. I'm a very independent person, and for the most part in the past I did not like accepting help and favours from friends. That being said, I loved being generous, and would often give a lot to others that I would not accept from them myself. I enjoyed making them happy. Thankfully, logic kicked in and I realised how stupid I was to not let others enjoy making me happy by helping me as well! So, to save money for when I do have a job and want to properly locate somewhere, I've been living on friends futons and sofas, which obviously has the added benefit of hanging out with some awesome people. The issue I have, is it doesn't matter how many dinners you make or how many times you clean their flat, living somewhere costs money, I am adding to those costs, and encroaching on their space, so I don't want to do this for too long. I'll need to keep rotating!

Inevitably, there are some challenges...

My big challenge so far has been keeping things going with job applications. I have an abundance of time right now to do this, but very little stimulation. I know what I want, what I can offer, and what I can do, but I'm sure we've all experienced how difficult this can be to convey when applying for things online. I've been very meticulous in my tracking of applications, tailoring of CVs and cover letters, and assessment of my suitability as a candidate, but it has taken some time to garner results. I have not lost motivation by any means, but as someone that loves being in front of people and influencing that way, I'm finding it difficult to do as another applicant out of hundreds on a screen. There is also a chronological concern for me - many of the roles I apply for will factor in an expected 30 day notice period for prospective employees into their hiring timelines. So there's a small worry that when there is some success, it will still be some time until I'm actually working.

Note: since recording this post, I have had some very good progress on this front

mountain.jpg

And so, I guess the main thing to share in this update is how energising this whole process has been, despite having to navigate and negotiate with myself over a few minor things. Sure, I'm not currently hiking up a slippery gravelly mountain, surrounded by hangover-breaking obscenely ornate and inspiring nature, with new and exciting friends - but I am still captivated by the vastness of the world that surrounds me, and the endless opportunity that it presents.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @laineydn I have upvoted and sent you a tip

welcome to Steemit Laineydn:) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

Hi @laineydn , welcome to Steemit. I do hope that you have a wonderful time on this platform, if you have any questions or if there is anything I can help you with do not hesitate to ask, I will be more than happy to help.
If you would like to stay in touch please Follow me @pastorlea

Welcome to Steemit! laineydn, Upvote & Follow is ou great strength.
Let's try to get along.

Amazing blog @laineydn thanks for sharing us i just upvoted your post
i hope you will upvote me back
you can follow me at @zeeshankhan

Welcome back, hope to see pictures of your trip. Following your blog. :)

Hi @laineydn welcome to Steemit. I do hope that you have a wonderful time on this platform, if you have any questions or if there is anything I can help you with do not hesitate to ask, I will be more than happy to help.
If you would like to stay in touch please Follow me @Fshllc

Congratulations @laineydn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45