Back From Travel and Applying for Jobs - The Returned Journey (3)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

My name is Mark, I live in the UK and returned from travelling a few weeks ago. I’ve been posting about my experience of coming back and all of those things you inevitably have to do…

Reconnecting with friends and family… Getting a job… Finding somewhere to live… The practicalities of reintegrating, and the personal journey that coincides with this.

Today, I’ll share my experiences of applying for jobs with you, and speak to how different sides of me manage and react to that situation.

Avoiding a Jekyll and Hyde Scenario

To do this, I’ll introduce you to two sides of me that are very intertwined, my personal life side and my work life side. I find it really interesting that the version of ourselves we bring into work is often very clipped and measured; appropriate to the scenario. How many times have we seen a different side to Jessica at the Christmas party, where she’s taken up openly swearing and shouting at senior colleagues, before wandering off to neck Dan from accounts? The key is to get the best of both worlds - to reconcile your situation appropriate woody work side with your screaming-to-get-out "this is me, this is my scatty personality" side.

Oftentimes, the colleagues and leaders I’ve most admired are excellent at bringing out all of their best personal qualities at work, and are extremely genuine. They’re not so different from behind their desk or behind a pint, though from here you might be lucky enough to hear a story not told to everyone in the office. I missed work a lot during my travels, in the sense that picking avocados and cherries didn’t really do much in the way of intellectual stimulation. But part of that reflection did conjure up memories of feeling like the grungey punk singer in a band trapped in a suit, only go out after work with friends in bands and in the music industry being…. wait for it…. the guy in the suit… Still, my work focused side is not a bad thing, he’s the guy who pays the bills and enables me to do a lot of the cool stuff in my life that I want to do, and this post is focused on a much needed activity of his doing.

Keeping Afloat in a Sea of Applications

For the most part, even in retail, the days of printing out a CV, walking in and dropping it in the hands of a less than enthusiastic current employee, who’s manager is currently away, are gone! Hurrah! But what this means is that we automatically lose a lot of that personal touch when making an application, and are funnelled into a vast flow of online submissions. It can be very difficult to stand out in this world - I did internships in recruitment and if a quick scan of the headings and 10 second CTRL+F key word search did not generate much, CV number 129 would be closed and forgotten. So really in this world, the key is not only a good resume, it’s volume.

APPLY! APPLY! APPLY!

But how to keep track of all this? And keeping track is important - nobody wants to answer no or lie when they finally receive a call from Claire saying “Hi Mark, do you remember applying to such and such for a role doing such and such?” And so, I created a simple tracker:

Role - The title of the position
Company - The organisation that’s hiring, or the recruitment firm until the client is revealed
Location - Where it’s at (I got two turntables and a microphone)
Job Description - A link to the full job specification, so it can quickly be pulled up in the event of a call
Date Applied - A grim reminder of how long this is taking...
Closing Date - Helps if available to disregard non-responsive applications
Salary - Often not shared, so hard to compare….
Status - Rejected, Open Email Response, Open with interview…. etc
Cover Letter - An inserted document of the specific cover letter I used for the application
CV - An inserted document of the specific tailored CV I used for the application
Comments - Any other useful information
Interview Information - YAY!

As well as a date for when the status of each application was last updated, and a RAG colour coding to indicate whether the application is ongoing (White), active (Green), looking unlikely (Orange), or closed (Red, :( ).

Tracker.JPG

The Horizon is Starting to Appear

Today, I had two first round telephone interviews, so I updated those roles, as well as a few of the classic automated email rejections, so I updated those as well. Any application that I hadn’t heard from in over 10 days on a job board (e.g. Reed or Totaljobs) I turned to Orange, and I checked the online application management portals for others where I applied directly and had yet to receive a response from them.

Application.png

So there’s been progress, and on a personal level I’m feeling pretty good about this. It is easy to have your confidence knocked when you’re applying for jobs and receiving nothing back or rejections, but it’s important to not let yourself take this personally. It’s business. And the issue of directing the right talent to the right role is a very difficult one to solve. So if someone couldn’t glean your experience or suitability from an application of hundreds they’ve seen, or perhaps you weren’t even right, so be it. Keeping your head up, applying in a high volume for roles that look right, as well as giving them the time and attention they deserve and tracking them well enough to have a meaningful conversation when the time comes is critical. The rewards will come.

Most of us spend the majority of our waking lives at work, so applying for jobs meaningfully and keeping on top of this increases your odds of finding something that you’ll enjoy and can be successful in.

Minyon.JPG

The process is mundane, quite inhuman in its early stages, and leaves a lot of room for disappointment, but it is what it is. It’s taken me a few weeks to get my first telephone interviews under my belt and now that I have I feel fantastic and glad that I persevered. Sure, I may not be be swimming in the ice cold exuberance of a crystal clear pool at the bottom of a waterfall, after having completed a sweaty yet lush hike, but I am on the path to the next step in my career and feeling very grateful and optimistic.

Note: I have tagged this as introduceyourself as I haven’t yet shown “Business Mark” in my posts thus far.

Sort:  

Post a good post is not easy but this one I liked, continue doing good post.
I wish you the best! and hope to see you soon.

WELCOME TO STEEMIT :) Glad to see more people like you - here join the steemit! Being a steamboat is a great adventure! Here you can win money while blogging! At first it will not be easy, but it is not impossible. So just write it from your heart and everything will be fine. ! Applause! Wish you much luck! Greetings, @romialfian

Hi @romialfian, thank you for the kind words! You're making me wish I could read Korean so I could understand your posts! Much love, @laineydn

Welcome to Steem Community @laineydn! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hi @newsteemians - thank you for the warm welcome. As you can tell, I am very new to this, and focusing more on trying to get the hang of creating great content as opposed to figuring out how to get popular on Steemit! Any guidance or further exposure you can give would be very much welcomed. All the best, @laineydn

Welcome to steemit. Hope to hear from you more often. Steemit on! I upvoted your post and followed. Please do same.

Congratulations @laineydn! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

welcome....i have upvoted you and following give me the best @kunani

Hi @laineydn welcome to Steemit!

This is a great place with a great community
-- glad to have you around!
I look forward to reading your blog.
All the best...

@evilplague

Congratulations @laineydn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit!

Respect! I looked at your profile and noticed that you have made a fresh account so welcome to steemit. Have one upvote on the house and know that the steemit community awaits!
I am struggeling, like you, to get those first upvotes on my posts so my advice would be to give Steemfollower a go as you can earn up to 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use. I have more info on it in this post where I go over the system in more depth and, believe it or not, this has become my most upvoted post yet.

Hi @kromosoom, thank you for the tip! I'm a little reluctant to try and manipulate the way in which I garner a following, even if it is common practice. Ultimately, I want to upvote content I enjoy, and for others to do the same with my posts, and don't feel comfortable with a back scratching arrangement. If this reduces my potential reach and puts me at a lower level on the playing field, then so be it! Best wishes, @laineydn

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.94
ETH 2653.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43