You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bring Love Back to the Garden of Eden: How Do You Want Your Eggs?

in #travel6 years ago

Oh man!! I would love to work at a place like that. That food looks amazing and I love that the compost is made by you! What kind of treatment do you use on the compost? Do you check the PH of it before planting with it?

Sort:  

What do you mean by treatment? I don't check the ph. I guess I just have an instinct about it. You just have to have a balance of things. Kitchen scraps, yard clippings, other sources of soil and Manure. I know when it's ready by the feel, look and smell of it. Glad to see your enthusiasm.

Hope to see you there. Please repost so I can get home to support my family.

Very grateful. ❤️
Steem on!

Done! By treatment I mean, pouring the egg water from hard boiled eggs into the soil to add calcium, or using baking soda to bring down acidity for plants requiring the alkaline soil. Some plants are really picky!

At the Garden of Eden there is such a variety stuff everyday that goes into the compost that I don't really put that much thought into it. It's not unusual to add three 5 gallon buckets of kitchen scraps everyday. I would boil a couple dozen eggs once or twice a week and the liquid would get dumped in the buckets. If I boiled pumpkin or there was spoiled milk being cleaned out of the fridge it all goes into the buckets.

Also, everyday there is grounds managing that brings in composting materials. Then there's neighbors who would bring us manure or saw dust or wood chips. Many men would do the favor of urinating on it.

So there's always a variety of materials going into it. If my plants needed extra calcium I might use a separate bucket to collect egg shells, dry them out then mash them to crumbs, sprinkle over soil or mix into a top dress.

I've learned over the years that these things are not hard and fast rules but techniques to mold to fit your particular situation.

Grateful for the conversation and your interest. Talking about this is making me homesick for my garden...of Eden.

Keep composting and growing your Steem dreems.

We have been doing the same thing with our compost, we plan to PH test it before use, but we have a pretty full and over flowing bin right now! Everything from yard waste from raking leaves to kitchen scraps and waste food. We even put our ashes in there from the firepit when it needs cleaning.

Yeah. We do ashes too. Starbucks gives us coffee grounds.

Why do you test the PH? Sounds like you have a specific issue you are addressing?

I have some tropical plants that require a more alkaline soil than we have so I have to set aside a pail of compost and add baking soda to level the ph out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57068.68
ETH 2988.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27