On the edge of North KoreasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

Along the Eastern shore line between the North and South Korean boarder is the Goseong Unification Observatory. A Just behind me a hedge on a South Korean Hill is the Korean word "Tong-il" "Together".

IMG_20170805_182842.jpg

The people here still wish for a single Korea but that's changing. My mother (Korean) fears the youngest generation of Korean's care little for their lost cousins. On the other side of me to the north is.. North Korea.

IMG_20170805_172406580_HDR.jpg

A speaker blasts North Korean propaganda into the ears of the onlooking tourists. You can see a double wall of barbed and electrical fences that keep the same people away from each other. The only difference being which side of the boarder you lived on by the end of the war.

There are many fixed feelings I've had while being here. Being the child of an American and Korean I can say with a certainty I wouldn't have been born if the war hadn't ended the way it did. I try to image my cute old Pepere (Grandfather) here in Korea fighting to stop the spread of communism.

3951.jpeg

The War ended in 1953 with a nation divided. The South became westernized with the aid of their Western allies and today are a proud and successful people. The North became became a communist country. A country that threatens war and a god-king who assassinated his own brother. ("Yes there is actually still a nation in this world that prays to a mortal-man.").

IMG_20170805_173048930_HDR.jpg

IMG_20170805_174304231_HDR.jpg

Here Buddah and Mary statues face North Korea offering them a silent prayer. I would personally like to see the countries United but at what cost? Thanks for listening to my thoughts.

IMG_20170805_172409420_HDR.jpg

Koreans stack rocks to make a wish. The streets here are full of stacks like these. "Can you guess what their wishing for?"
IMG_20170805_175024581.jpg
My rock is the top left, don't knock it over or my wish won't come true! :)

Sort:  

I am Groot! :D

Seeing North Korea is a chilling and sobering reminder of all that we should hold dear as Americans and South Koreans.

Amazing pictures ladygray. I'm glad you shared the story with us! A great history lesson!

This is reality. :( I hope everything will be settled, but I'm afraid the possibility is very small. However, hanging on to that minute possibility is essential. Thanks for sharing this post @ladygray... I have some Korean friends who still wish for peace and unity, so it's a good sign. ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61795.04
ETH 3458.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52