You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel with me to the mystical land of Narnia: Edmonton Ice Castle +20 images day/night!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

hehe yes! My ancestors are linked to the court of France and was in charge of the early settlements(3rd settlement) and the fur trade in Nouvelle- France (quebec) Much of the towns still have the original names that my family have given them when they were part of their lordships. I only learned english as a late teen and early 20's. I think the same, I can't live this close to the Rockies and not spend time there. I try to go every year but I prefer going twice maybe 3 X if I can. Thanks to steemit I have an extra reason to go. I'm sure skiing is fun, I don't ski but I like to hike, climb and visit animal sanctuaries.

@freedomshift, Interactions comments and upvoyes on my comment section is always welcome!! Happy week-end to you too! Thank you for stopping by and the encouragement <3

Sort:  

Oh wow how cool! I'm guessing you have old documents from that era or you know all this through research? I would looove to read a blog on your family history, if you have anything to illustrate... i think it would be fascinating.

I don't have any artifacts, there is a page dedicated to the history that an other family member has researched plus my own research researching names and affiliations/ marriages in France,saxons and Spain ( where the original last name Amore came from Queen Isabella and marriage of her daughter when they occupied parts of Italy together, later divorced and translated to D'Amours in french). There is also lots of history in the Government of Canada Archives. From African and Egyptian crusades in the 1200 all the way to the settling of quebec with samuel de Champlain in the 1600. !st born sons were military commanders and king's right hand man for a few hundred years and the second born sons high priests. Some of their castles are still standing. They were also lords of Courcelles and Anjou and other areas thru out the years. My mom has a copy of the family book with all the birth/death and occupations since they started keeping track in France but we are not on speaking terms so I don't currently have access to it.

Fascinating genealogy and family history. I can see a lot of research was done by both family members and yourself... I've never had to do much research myself in regards to my genealogy as my great-grandfather took care of doing that in his retirement years. It's insane the amount of work that goes into it.
Some distant cousins of mine are D'Amour (no "s" though) :)
Thanks for sharing all this @ladybug146, and congrats on getting curied :)

My grandfather , he's passed on now but he always made sure we knew where we came from. Yes there is a lot of work that goes into it, it took me quite some time to confirm all the info. Who knows there could be some very distant relatives!! I was pretty happy that curie came by, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51