Canadian Rockies: Moody mountains in Kananaskis, day 2

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians!

three sisters parkway4.jpg

This was the first day we would officially wake up in the mountains in Peter Lougheed Provincial Park, maybe it's the excitement that kept me up all night, maybe it was the cold or a bit of both. The overnight temperature while camping in the Rockies can easily dives into the single digits sometimes near freezing mark depending on what elevation and how close to glaciers and lakes. To top it off, before I even opened my eyes I could hear the raindrops hitting the tent getting heavier as time went on, water started to leak into our humble accommodations so that was our cue to get up pack up the blankets in the truck so they could stay dry for the night. It was looking like it was going to be a miserable day, good thing we are not backpacking.

kananaskis6.jpg
Shot 1/160 sec. f/9 18 mm, ISO 400

three_sisters_parkway8.jpg
Shot 1/250 sec. f/8 18 mm, ISO 200

Luckily, this gloom and doom would only last for the day, hard to tell with no cell or internet reception and the closest weather forecast is for Canmore anyway. Whatever happened, it would help cool the day time temperatures during the heat wave that was sweeping Alberta at the time. We did an entire 4 day mountain trip in pouring rain before because there was no way we were going to let the mountains poo poo all over our plans and it wasn't fun waking up cold and damp everyday...talk about stubborn eh! Glad this wasn't a repeat but in the meantime we needed something to do there was no way I was going hiking for hours in this shit. I only stand out in the rain when work pays me and even then I question my decision making skills, I will not do it for free. I will hike in -40 but not in the rain, something tells me I could have been a cat in a previous life...hehe

kananaskis7.jpg
Shot 1/250 sec. f/10 18 mm, ISO 400

The Rockies has many roadside "points of interest" that we ignored on the way, I guess today is a good day to go up and down the park and check each one and maximize our day and viewing territory. The weather didn't make for spectacular photos but the view was still as impressive as ever with the peaks piercing thru the heavy clouds all around us. We barely noticed the fact that we had hardly seen anybody all day, just us and nature... The joy of going the a lesser known part of the mountains mainly visited by locals. As beautiful as it is and everybody should see it, I hope it remains the way it is and never becomes a popular resort area like Banff, it would take away from the peaceful Rockies experience.

kananaskis.jpg
Taken by @silvergingerman with iphone8

The next picture isn't the greatest scenery and I don't have a lens that can cover that sort of distance yet but it was a special moment I don't get to capture very often so I will share it anyway. On one of our stops a hawk was flying around us, we must have been between it's nest and the river it fished in. They prefer to nest in high altitudes for hunting, not something we come across too often near the city.

DSC_2798.jpg

On our drive, we encountered many geological changes and features that were note worthy, one of which is Rock Glacier located on Kananaskis Trail still in Peter Lougheed Provincial Park near Highwood Pass and accessible by short walk from the road. At first, hard to say what to make of it, it looks like the mountain is made of a pile of loose stones, maybe strange and unimpressive view at first, but then one has to wonder, when and how did they get here?? that's a big pile of rocks!!

rock glacier.jpg

Rock Glacier is part of the crumbling west side of Mount Rae (Rae Glacier on the other side of the mountain), over thousands of years the face of the mountain has been slowly eroding away slow enough that resilient trees and flowers can still grow in the rubble but it occasionally slips as it accumulates forming ripples or wave like effects in the rock deposits. It is expected to cross and block the highway in the distant future, another few hundred years maybe. The rocky landscape is the perfect home for the Pika ( A small rabbit-like rodent), whom can be heard whistling thru the rubble. The Road to access this part of Alberta is closed from December 1st to June 14 , times to visit is limited but it's a short interactive walk (around 1km) suitable for families worthy of a quick stop on the way to Elbow Pass and lake. We will revisit this area on a later post when the weather decides to cooperate and better pictures can be taken.

kananaskis8.jpg
Shot 1/60 sec. f/4.5 55 mm, ISO 450

Having been in and out of the truck in this garbage temperaure, we were getting cold and damp, time to pick a destination. We had one in mind but took a wrong turn at some point and ended up on this super rough rocky mountain road instead and just stuck with it, we knew it would lead us somewhere at some point... New undiscovered territory for us anyway. Looked like the sun was trying to shine thru, helping photos a little. Gave us hope to finally hit the trails tomorrow, better yet, a camp fire and A DRY PLACE TO SLEEP. Either way, driving towards the blue sky sounded like a good plan (vacation logic...I know)

three_sisters_parkway.jpg
Shot 1/400 sec. f/11 18 mm, ISO 200

three sister parkway2.jpg
Shot 1/400 sec. f/11 18 mm, ISO 200

three sister parkway3.jpg
Shot 1/250 sec. f/8 26 mm, ISO 140

With the limited roads and the process of elimination, we assumed we were on the back-road from Peter Lougheed Provincial Park to Canmore, aka The Three Sisters Parkway. I highly recomend doing the drive at least once if time allows it, it's a gorgeous view. The road is kinda bad, rocky and full of potholes/bumps...having a good reliable vehicle and enough gas is recommended because there is nothing but nature for over an hour until Canmore. The thought of a warm meal we didn't have to cook/eat in the rain was comforting as much as we wanted to be on the outdoor adventure, mother nature did derail our plans once again. Having access to phone and internet for a few minutes, at least long enough to check the weather radar over our camping area to see what time the rain cleared and it seemed on our return it would be the end of the rain for the rest of the trip... YAY

gopher.jpg
Gopher, shot 1/640 sec. f/6.3 200 mm, ISO 800

three sisters parkway7.jpg
Shot 1/250 sec. f/8 22 mm, ISO 200

With full bellies and a cheered spirit, it was time to head back to camp for the night, we still had a few hours of driving if we wanted to go back via the parkway. If you have been reading my blog long enough, I sometimes spoke about a sketchy mountain road near Canmore, this is it. The road leads to a recreational area and trails. I must admit, it wasn't nearly as questionable now that it's free of ice, I suppose after being on it a few times helps with the altitude factor. I definitely have a better picture of this view from previous trips but I still very much enjoy the vantage point.

canmore.jpg

I will leave you with a few more pictures, if you missed day one, I will leave a link at the bottom of this post. Don't forget to check back in a few days for day 3. Have a good weekend, hope you are all enjoying your summer and play safe!

three sisters parkway6.jpg
Shot 1/250 sec. f/8 40 mm, ISO 100

deer.jpg
Shot 1/200 sec. f/5.6 300 mm, ISO 800

kananaskis9.jpg
Shot 1/160 sec. f/6.3 22 mm, ISO 200

three_sisters_parkway5.jpg
Shot 1/250 sec. f/8 22 mm, ISO 200

deer2.jpg
Shot 1/160 sec. f/5.6 300 mm, ISO 800

fire.jpg
Shot 1/250 sec. f/5.6 135 mm, ISO 500

All images taken with Nikon D7000 and Sigma 18-200 mm lens.

https://steemit.com/travel/@ladybug146/canadian-rockies-first-steps-into-kananaskis-country-day-1

Cheers! X🐞X

Sort:  

@ladybug146 you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Thank you @flagfixer for your anti-troll services. Should I report them anywhere to help clean things up?

Dang just came across your post! I wish it was sooner as me and @josefinemk have just visited Peter Lougheed recently and woulda been cool to do a Steemit hike meet up or sorts!

Your photos are all absolutely stunning and definitely deserved to win the North America round! Enjoy the rest of your Rockies triP!

That's pretty cool, what are the chances that 4 steemians are in the same area by accident!! awe well, meet up would have been an interestng turn of events. We had a great time hiking around. I hope you both enjoyed your trip as much as we did. How long did you go for?

No riding and I live in Calgary so we usually do day trips and then come home! Usually around the Kananaskis area or Canmore! Your pictures are stunning!

This is the hike we did in Peter Lougheed : https://steemit.com/travelfeed/@kryptocek/steem-travels-travel-feed-2

Both gorgeous areas. I live in Edmonton so Jasper is the close one for me. We still go in the Canmore area every year as well. Lucky that you live so close to be able to go for day trips whenever you want, one day I will have that.

Ahh that's cool! I say Calgary but actually from Red Deer haha just no one would know where that is! You planning on moving from Edmonton?

Wow, these pictures are great! I wish I would've know you were in the Rockies so we could've done a Steemit meet up :-)

Thanks!! Awwe that's too bad a meet-up would have been cool, @silvergingerman and I talk about how cool it would be to find enough steemians for a Rockies meet! we are going back next week if you are in the Jasper area.

I feel like I am there, with a tour guide. Thanks for showing such beautiful places.

Good 😁, I'm glad you enjoyed!! I have as much fun roaming the landscape as I do talking about it . Thanks for stopping by xox

Oh wow these are some awesome pics! Great work.

Thanks for stopping by with your kind words 😍 The mountains did most of the work!

So beautiful! Love the gopher and the deer with the velvety horns.

PS - If you look in your wallet you got accepted today to the minnowbooster white list. (They sent you a notification earlier today).It is a voting/delegation service reserved for people nominated to the list who produce quality content for steemit. It is yours to use now if interested. ☺️ Or to ignore if you aren’t interested.

Looking forward to the next post about your trip!

Thank you! The animals were very cute indeed, I have many pictures but I can never help myself. I like the interaction with them too.

Thanks for letting me know! I wasn't sure what that was, I never used their services but I will check them out, you never know.

Too bad it was such a dreary, gray day. It was a gorgeous drive and I'd be more than glad to do it all over again! (hopefully next time it'll be a lot sunnier and we can take much better pictures!) Spray Valley Provincial Park and Goat Mountain are worth the view!

Yes they are! maybe we can go camp there too someday, we'll explore all the parks someday. The mountains certainly are much nicer when it's less gray... hehe

Stunning and Beautiful Scenery @ladybug146 ...................

Thank you @stockjockey! It was a great place to spend the week.

Beautiful landscape and awesome photography. Hope to visit here someday.

Thank you! I hope you get to visit too one day, it's quite an experience to have!

Ful upvote for the nice reading. Did similar stuff recently but in pleasant Spain and Portugues mountains!

I'm glad you enjoyed it! I think I saw one of your spain post before I left to the no internetland, I 'll go catch up on what I missed. I love mountains no matter where they are!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54045.75
ETH 2247.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30