State of Decay: An Abandoned Hospital...

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Welcome to my State of Decay series, Steemian Explorers.

Capture.JPG

This hospital was closed down in 2008 and left to rot. The development of another hospital less than 10 minutes away took away the business that this hospital received. The area was already 60% unemployed previous to the hospital closing, so without money flowing in the area, there was no need for 3 hospitals. This one and another the next town over were both closed and abandoned along with a prison a few years later, leaving the county which it is located in poverty and without jobs.
We decided to take the trip here on a whim at three in the morning. My oh, my did we find an awesome place as you can see. We arrived at about 8 am. The trip took about 4 hours to arrive. We parked near the back entrance and were a bit hesitant to head inside right away. We heard some noises as if somebody were inside. As soon as we came inside, there was graffiti on the wall that read, "I AM HERE." You can understand our hesitation about heading inside.

maxresdefault.jpg

This one is not mine but it looks similar to how "I AM HERE" looked.

7.JPG

The inside was mostly torn out and scrapped. Structures lay crumbling and walls were caving. It had rained recently so there were pools of water covering different areas of the floor. I thought to myself, "What did this look like before? Without the huge puddles of water and the collapsing debris that was strewn across the room?"

5.JPG

We headed past this area, where I assume the lobby was located. We said goodbye to the light of the entrance and said hello to the dark embrace that lie ahead. Our lights were on, cautiously perusing the rooms and hallways ahead of us.

I turned a corner and flashed my light down the hallway. I froze.
I was face to face with another set of eyes glaring right back at me.

Remember when I said that somebody may have been in the hospital already?

Well, I wasn't wrong...

Stay tuned for Part II...

Sort:  

Nice content, 100% upvoted from @chanthasam

Damn, why did so much of the structure collapse? Pretty unusual for a relatively recently abandoned building. Honestly, I have seen buildings in Chernobyl that were in much better shape.

I guess it has been the mix of rain and scrappers. I'm not sure really. I've also seen other places in better shape that have been abandoned for much longer.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Johnny from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29