You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My adventures in Europe. Sick and waiting for the Dutch Embassy in Budapest

in #travel8 years ago

Shortly after this post from above this was something I wrote a little later:

Friday, December 11, 2015 at 6:08pm UTC+02
I know it was very important when it first was given to me, but the Law to Fear None but God, needs to be re-iterated, repeated, and restated, over, and over again. Like today when I hear someone comment that my blog 'does not help my situation', all I can say is, at first, yeah, well controversy is still publicity. But then I forgot - my brazen expression of my opinion has always been a feature of my activity online, right back to 1995 when I first joined an anarchy discussion mailing list (anarchy list - I just searched for it, couldn't find anything. BTW, if you want to see everything I have put up on the internet, some key search terms: David Vennik, Loki Verloren, Elfspice - I appear on DMT world, the Hive, and numerous other places). Nobody has ever told me that I have not got a job because someone googled me, but I think that it would certainly instantly drop me off a shortlist. Not that I care, I was not born to be an employee, I am an entrepreneur, an innovator, an inventor, a radical and my super power is upsetting applecarts and offending people with brutal expressions of the reality of life.

Sort:  

We cannot be defined by how others perceive us or judge us. We are only defined by what we are and what we can accomplish. There will be challenges, upsets, failures, and negativity all around but those, too, do not define us. They may help us mold our character but we still have the final say on how they will affect us. Sometimes people around us cannot deal with who we are thus the misunderstanding.

I believe you have the necessary skills and talents to succeed even here in steemit. You are an innovator, try innovating around our steemit community, invent around the STEEM tokens, keep "offending people with brutal expressions of the reality of life" but also be considerate to them that may be offended.

Steve Jobs had offended too many people in his lifetime and look how successful he was. It was his radical point of view, thinking-outside-the-box mentality that brought him his success. Of course it was not without repercussions. Many people also hated his guts. I am not saying he was right to hurt other people and sometimes mistreat them. I am saying that being nice all the time does not make someone successful. Time will come that you will have to step on someone's toes. But we cannot remain unkind. There has to be some humanity in our actions. And that makes a lot difference.

i didn't dish out my displeasure because i enjoy this sort of thing, the person who was the target was saying things right in front of my eyes that clearly called for someone to point it out. it was blowing my mind that nobody was pointing out how juvenile and self-contradictory it was.

anyway, it's like you say. if you innovate and empower people, they will return it back to you many times over, because of the profit of their increased productivity. that's why apple was such a success. the two steves built their apple pc in the garage back when everyone else in IT said nobody would buy them. it's exactly the same thing. make something people don't know they want yet, then people buy it, and because you are in there first, you get the cream of the revenue for quite some time until the market gets too tight.

Join us in our initiative to help other members.
https://steemit.chat/channel/steemteam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55