The City Breeds...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

Oppression and Subjugation

image

As I was walking down the Aviendo de Mayo in Buenos Aires today this thought became a pondering.

Being a tourist here I was trying to look at the architecture, shops, restaurants and well you know the ambiance. I also kept my eyes on the special buildings and sights, the pride and heritage of the Country.

I imagined what the local people thought each day as they saw these magnificent structures... but it hit me like a city bus; they weren't!

Instead their heads were down, eyes averting contact.

Now I am not a scary looking individual nor am I big or intimidating. So why we're their eyes diverted upon contact?

Another bus!

Theirs heads and eyes need to look down, if the look up or around to take in their surroundings or those people in it they risk pain, physical damage... and embarrassment! People do not fear the pain or damage as much as the chance of embarrassment!

The risks are many in the big city streets. There are potholes, raised sections of sidewalk, missing manhole covers or electrical / plumbing plates. This does not even account construction or refuse and debris. It does not account for excrement of animals and possibly the homeless, or their stuff.

Yes you must keep your eyes and head down.

Just to avoid the in-numerous risks, dangers and probabilities of stepping into or upon them.

Even I, a curious and interested tourist was subjugated into keeping my eyes down as the overwhelming feeling of oppression hit me...

Like a bus

I won't even get into the trials and dangers of co-existing with the taxis, busses and aggravated drivers inner city.

This was meant to be whimsical, but there is a touch of reality as well.

.
.
.


Good Health – Evan Pantazi #Kyusho

Image Credit: iPhone

Sort:  

i am always try to do this while walking on srreet,thanks for sharing and reminding.

Do not forget to look up and take in life.

Great post... Thank you for sharing @kyusho...
Upvoted/ Resteemed
Have nice day!!!

Many thanks

Awesome post . Thank you for sharing!

Thank you for the comment,

upvoted, thanks for sharing great article @kyusho

Wow. Buenos Aires for me is like another planet, distant and inviting, since I am from Russia))

To me the earth breathes... sometimes it is very large feeling with other locations seemingly very far away. At other time the world is very small... but the cities all share the same commonalities.

Great article. You know when I read articles like this it makes me reflect upon life and be grateful for what I have. Thanks @kyusho

We should all be great full we are few to create our own lives.

Yah. True and thanks for the upvote

I can kinda understand why people would look down or avoid eye contact.
Some people get pissed off by just getting looked at. I work in retail and i get that from people. Not trying to make it in a race thing but more of a avoiding conflict. Sorta like when you've been told to "Look away and keep moving" I think it's the same concept. Just avoiding situations.

That's the oppression and subjugation at work.

Indeed..indeed.
I am just nice to everyone by nature when first meeting them.
I always get looked at and ignored when I tell the person "How may i help you"

Great travel Experience. nice photography. Thanks @kyusho
100% like and resteem

Greatly appreciated

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78