Weekend trip to Dallas: Day one.

in #travel5 years ago


Dallas Skyline

Weekend Trip to the Beautiful city of Dallas. Have you been?

Dads hip surgery was scheduled, the family gathered for moral support, and after a successful replacement, the long-awaited trip arrives. I've been to Dallas for work roughly a year ago and only saw a small portion of the grand city. This time I arrived a day early to visit as many museums as possible. My surprise when the weather dropped to a chilly 49-degree Fahrenheit which is 8.89 degrees Celsius. Which is freezing weather.

The cold weather didn't stop anyone from enjoying the fireplace.

Cold weather, heat on, and a long list of must-sees. I started the day in search of coffee and it wasn't as easy of a task as one would imagine.

  1. George W. Bush Museum

The decision point room is one of the highlights. The replica oval office, family videos, royal jewelry that were donated are noteworthy too. As the 41st president of the United States several of his policy I disagree with.

His note worth term as president will be remembered for the September 11 Terrorist Attack, War with Iraq, Hurricane Katrina, and the inauguration of Barack Obama. Curious for more?
Click here for a more detail list. There are many events during his presidency that I remember and yet they seem a lifetime ago. Do you have a favorite US or international president or political figure? Who and why?


After missing a few exit's on the highway, a couple of laps around this huge museum, library, and cafe, it was time for lunch.

The last trip I took was in 2018 when I went to Europe. For some reason, traveling to Dallas put me in an international mindset. Not sure if it was the cold weather that made me feel foreign. The incredibly complicated pothole filled high ways and roads or if it was the amazing selection of food choices.


Traveling makes me think of @choogirl and her vegan lifestyle.

Let's chat about food. The good, the great, and the impersonation.

When Choo travels, she often comments on the vegan options or the lack thereof. Dallas is known for its very meaty American foods and it wasn't challenging to find plant-based options. At this particular restaurant, I had the pho Tufo for lunch and stopped at the lovely, and largest one I've seen, Whole Foods Market.


The Brazilian cafe pictured above took me by surprise. The food options seem Latin-inspired, but my amazing chef of a mother has spoiled me with countless feast and Brazilian barbeque. So, we moved on to look for coffee. This was more challenging then I anticipated. I refuse to pay for overpriced Starbucks and I refused to pay for overpriced fake french coffee. Dallas, you must have more local coffee shops.

Side Note: Southwest Airlines is my favorite airline. Price wise they aren't always the cheapest. They do, however, have the funniest staff. They sing, they sometimes rap, and they always seem happy. Do you have a favorite airline?


The adventure continues, but this post feels long. Stay tune for part two...

This barely covers day one and I assure you there are more pictures to come.

Thanks for reading, upvoting, and commenting!

Love always,

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=kubbyelizabeth
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=weekend-trip-to-dallas-day-one


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Excellent Dallas skyline picture of the downtown area. Welcome to Texas, @kubbyelizabeth.

@kubbyelizabeth You have received a 100% upvote from @steemconductor because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 56858.44
ETH 2919.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60