Davao City: The Largest City in the Philippines (Literally)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Once again, I was away.


20620888_1558424200875605_8097625854081087151_n.jpg

Boulders in Mt. Apo, Davao City side

I've gone on a trip for 8 days. And every time I got back in Manila, I don't have the drive to write about my trip. It's been more than a week since I returned from my climb in Davao. But I haven't written anything except for posting a few color challenges. Actually, I posted it when I was still in Mindanao; in Padada to be exact.

It was my first time visiting the place but I wasn't able to go out so much because my budget was limited. (Yeah, I know it sucks.) I thought I could stroll even just the downtown area only. Unfortunately, my friend's house was too far from the downtown and my other friend couldn't let me stay with him. If I was going to stay in the sentro (center), I have to pay for my stay in a dormitory or a hotel. I couldn't afford that luxury. And, I was kinda expecting to meet or just glance at Mr. President on some road or something. Sadly, I didn't.


Even with my short stay, I was still very observant of the matters at the locale and here are some things I noticed about Davao City:

1. I have my own Taxi Company.

Taxi.jpg

Actually, Davao has a taxi company in my name, Krizia. I was really surprised when I saw my name on a cab in Davao. I arrived early at the airport and I was waiting for my friends when a taxicab passed by. I was stunned, smiling! I waited for another one to pass by so I could take a photo. Until now, it really makes me happy seeing my name on those vehicles.

2. Davao is actually bigger than I expected.


Davao City is the center of Metro Davao and is literally the largest city in the Philippines. By literal, I mean in terms of land area. From Ateneo de Davao in Roxas, Poblacion District to Kuya Edwin Togon's house in Catalunan Grande, Talomo would take 2 rides, a jeep and a Habal-habal (motorcycle) or another jeep which is an hour ride even without heavy traffic. Having your own private vehicle is a convenience but it's useless with the congestion during rush hours.

3. The lights on the streets are quite dim.

13561869_488674874659852_1248411905_n.jpg

Image Source

I heard a lot of times that Davao City is the safest city in the Philippines but I was a little disappointed to see the streets that were weakly illuminated. This maybe because the bulbs used were yellow bulbs. I was repeatedly taken by surprise by people who appears out of nowhere as well as bicyclists who don't have taillights and reflectors on their bikes. They don't even wear headlamps or something to let other motorists know they are on the side of the street. In fact, I even told Ate Pamela Togon that I can't drive in a street like that at night. I'm scared that I may cause an accident. I guess my vision isn't good enough. I hope they change those bulbs.

4. The security is very tight.

download.jpg

Image Source

We went outside Davao City to North Cotabato to spend the night at Mt. Apo's jump off, Agco Lake. We traversed from Kidapawan City to Davao City taking the Mandarangan Trail and exiting in Sibulan Exit, Sta. Cruz. When we came back to enter Davao City Proper again, a checkpoint was stationed at the borders where all the vehicles are pulled over and are strictly inspected and all the people are required to get out of their cars and undergo a bag check-up. Soldiers are also prying on the whereabouts of the people. I admire the police and military force. With the Martial Law implemented in Mindanao, they're doing a great job. Salute to them!


Overall, you should visit Davao.

Despite the little disappointments, I'm still going back there. I enjoyed the time I spent there and I really want to visit the places I wasn't able to go to. I'd like to go to Samal Island, explore Davao del Norte and many other places. I also had a love interest. Baby Jennifer Manubay introduced me to someone but it's just not meant to be because even if our dinner date went well, we didn't keep in touch. I'm still going back there, though. I will.

Sort:  

Great post @krizia. I've never been to Davao, but I have spent a lot of time in Mindanao. Maybe one day i'll make it out that way. Looks like you had fun!

This post has been upvoted by the @teamphilippines curation trail.

Thank you for supporting our TeamPhilippines Movement by upvoting, resteeming, delegating, or donating to this account to allow us to support our growing team more and more each day!

Looks like you had a good time on your trip there regardless of your limited budget, keep up the great work and quality posts!

This post has been selected to be featured in the #TeamPhilippines Daily Issue for today.

See You in the TeamPhilippines Chat!

Thank you @teamphilippines! I did have a great time there even if my pocket money actually ran out. It's a good thing to have friends. Lol.

This is an eye opening article.

For people like me who hasn't visited Davao, yeah, I have the impression of it as a place that's really good and nice.

It's still a very nice place but the negative sides of Davao made me realize that no city is perfect but those are minor ones compared to how great this city is.

Nevertheless, it's a really nice place especially with the security.

I hope that we can implement such security to the whole country, it doesn't have to be under martial law to implement this level of security.

I don't want to worry too much about my daughter when she grows up, (yes, I'm a worry and security freak).

Sometimes I also tell my wife to migrate to Davao but she still prefers here in Tarlac.

Need to visit this some day, hopefully soon while our president is still the president.

P.S.

I was laughing about the taxi company, thought it was a typo error. Hope I can go to a province with my name on a taxi company lol.

Thanks, reading your post made me feel like I was also in Davao for a bit.

Kudos!

Now that I think of it, I haven't praised Davaoeños for their clean city streets. I really like that about them. I even talked to somebody who compared Davao and Manila City. He hates going to Manila because of the trash. Police and army officers are also around with or without Martial Law. It was just tighter to avoid letting possible threats in the city.
I've passed Tarlac a lot of times when going to Baguio and actually stayed and spent the night there only once during a fiesta. It's nice there. The people are, too. Made good friends with a handful of people.
Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and btw, you are great, too!

Yeah, sometimes I wonder how Davaoeños can maintain their cleanliness. Something that you don't usually see in a lot of place here in our country particularly the cities.

I'm originally from Cavite, (city boy) but my wife is from Tarlac, (probinsyana) and we settled here.

You're right, people here are nice, soft spoken and lots of great and exotic food lol.

Thank you for your great post. Following you now and I look forward to your future posts.

I wish you safety in all of your travels.

God bless.

Great experienced @krizia I love to go there too I never been that place actually looks like it's a best place to live guess me and my partner talked about Davao once planning to live there. Soon If I become bitcoin millionaire I will definitely try to live there because first of all I am Bisdak! boom panis! lol. anyway thank you. Stay awesome!

Wow! Salamat, bay! Hahaha. I also think of staying in Davao for good. It seems like a very nice and quiet place to live. I wanna work there, actually. I hope I can, in the future.

kumusta krizia! :) thanks for sharing here. your pics and words were good. cool! im following u and upvoting now.

Hello @chinito! It's nice to see fellow Filipinos here in steemit! Followed you back.

Yes it’s huge and great spot for long drive, roadtrip.

Hahaha. I bet it is. Would like to try it, one day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94